Tyler County Speedway & Renegades of Dirt Mod Tour Drivers to be Honored at Annual Awards Banquet

Tyler County Speedway & Renegades of Dirt Mod Tour Drivers to be Honored at Annual Awards Banquet

For Immediate Release

January 7, 2015

(Middlebourne, WV)  A celebration of the 2014 racing season at the Tyler County Speedway and the Renegades of Dirt Modified Tour will be held Saturday night January 17th at the Mollohan Center in New Martinsville, WV on State Rout 7 at the 4H Grounds. The 2014 awards banquet will recognize and celebrate the achievements of the drivers and race teams that competed during the speedway’s 40th Anniversary Season.  Drivers, crew, fans, sponsors and staff are invited to join us in honoring the accomplishments of some of the regions finest racers.

Divisions being showcased with awards include the J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber, Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Models, Two Brothers Motorsports Modifieds, EDGE Hotmods, Modlites, FWD 4 Cylinders and JJK Mineral Mini Wedges. Also receiving much deserved hardware will include the Top Ten drivers of the Renegades of Dirt Modified Tour.

Tickets are just $25 with doors opening for social hour at 4:00pm, followed by dinner at 5:00pm, awards presentations beginning promptly at 6:00pm with dancing and DJ Entertainment to follow. Tickets can be ordered by sending check or money order to the Speedway Office at PO Box 475, Middlebourne, WV 26149 or stop by Outlaw Graphics in Middlebourne or call 304-771-5661 or 304-771-6874. Only a limited number of tickets are available so be sure to get yours today!

2014 Final Tyler County Speedway Point Standings

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land & Timber:  It was Deja’ Vu’ once again at the ‘Bullring’ as the ageless wonder Butch McGill would haul another championship trophy back to West Union. The 2014 Championship was McGill’s record setting 10th Super Late Model track championship and his 3rd in a row.

1 Butch McGill 207     2. Steve Weigle 165     3. Sonny Conley 159     4. Derek Doll 143     5. Mike Benedum 143 6. Donnie Dotson 99     7. Paul Wilmoth 97     8. Billy Brown 87     9. Greg Baumberger 79     10. Steve Wilmoth 64

Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Models:  Pennsboro, WV’s Kyle Thomas would repeat his championship performance from a year ago to win the Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Model division track championship.  Thomas continued his stranglehold on the division by picking up his 3rd FASTRAK championship in five years at the ‘Bullring’.

1 Kyle Thomas 244     2. Joel Prosser 187     3. Danny Thomas 183     4. Shawn Jett 182     5. Derek Rogers 168     6. Ryan Payne 145   7. Brandon Francis 133     8. Robbie Scott 117     8. Brandon McGrady 117     10. Brian Baumberger 111

Two Brothers Motorsports EDGE Modifieds:  A familiar face will grace the winners podium in the Two Brothers Motorsports Modified Division as multi time track champion Bird Wilson aboard the unsponsored blue #20 would notch championship #8 and back to back titles for the stellar racer from Sistersville, WV.

1 Mike Wilson 208     2. Kurt Burge 147     3. Gerald Deitch 138     4. Kevin Dotson 99     5. JE Stalder 92     6. Codi Eaton 85     7. Junior Nolan 77     7. Travis Dickson 77     9. Lance Elson 76     10. Tony Tatgenhorst 70

EDGE Hotmods:  Picking up his second consecutive track championship in the EDGE Hotmod division was Sardis, Ohio’s Chad Smith. Smith would outduel an average of over twenty cars weekly to claim the championship in the affordable Hotmod division.

1 Chad Smith 267     2. Travis Thomas 236     3. Mick Baker 216     4. Kenny Isner 203     5. Levi Flesher 171     6. Lou Ennis 169     7. Cody Brightwell 162     8. Brandon Weigle 158    9. Steve Magyar 151     10. Darren Glover 148

Modlites:  Shinnston, WV’s Mitch Ward piloting the blue #862 would grab his first ever track championship at the Bullring in the stacked ModLite division. Ward would hold off a charging Jeff Fornash, Brandon Fluharty, Jim Ruckman and brother Matt Ward to claim his first championship.

1 Mitch Ward 225     2. Jeff Fornash 221     3. Brandon Fluharty 218     4. Jim Ruckman 208     5. Matt Ward 191     6. Tom Keplinger 169     7. Gabe Phillips 167     8. Ryan Baker 162     9. Daniel Eddy 160     10. Ryan Saffell 156

4 Cylinders:  After a one year hiatus, the FWD 4 Cylinder division returned to the speedway and it was once again perennial track champ Donnie Wamsley of Clarksburg, WV notching another track championship to his impressive resume. It was Wamsley’s 5th consecutive track championship at the ‘Bullring’ in the 4 Cylinder division.

1 Donnie Wamsley 269     2. Bill Tennant 263     3. Robert Frohnapfel 229     3. Scott Critchfield 229     5. Mike Frazier 213     6. Jason Frazier 199     7. Steve Frazier 160     8. Tyler Mosser 120     9. Clifford Flanigan 79     9. Ivan Wamsley 79

JJK Mineral MWRA Mini Wedges:  In the JJK Mineral MWRA Mini Wedge division it was young Brady Reed picking up his 1st Tyler County Speedway track championship. Reed would hold off a host of young talent in the ultra competitive youth league of auto racing besting a stout top five of Kylie Cross, Roo Roo Dotson, Garrett Jones and Dalton Anderson.

1 Brady Reed 307     2. Kylie Cross 296     3. Roo Roo Dotson 218     4. Garrett Jones 214     5. Dalton Anderson 199     6. Jacob Ice 186     7. Mackenzie Perine 170     8. Steven Frazier 169     9. Harli Rush 161     10. Tyler Tennant 157


About the Tyler County Speedway: Located in the scenic WV hills, the Tyler County Speedway is located just 4 miles south of Middlebourne, on State Route 18 at the Fairgrounds approximately an hour from Wheeling, Clarksburg & Parkersburg. Tyler County Speedway is considered by fans, drivers and industry insiders to be one of the raciest tracks in the nation and has been dubbed the ‘Bullring’ with three and four wide racing action being the norm not the exception.

Tyler County Speedway annually hosts some of the largest and most popular events in the Ohio Valley region! National and regional touring series such as the World of Outlaw Late Model Series, Renegades of Dirt Modified Tour, FASTRAK Racing Series, BOSS Sprints and much more appear frequently. In addition to the incredible Special Event lineup, the Tyler County Speedway Weekly Racing Series consists of the Super Late Models, FASTRAK Late Models, Open Wheel Modifieds, Hotmods, ModLites, FWD 4 Cylinders and MWRA Mini Wedges on Saturday Nights April thru September. For additional information regarding the Tyler County Speedway follow us online at www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com, phone the track office at 304-771-6874 or 304-771-5661 or on raceday at 304-758-2660.
–End of Release-