Troy Frazier, Chris Basich & April Tennant Star on Chilly Night at the Bullring

Troy Frazier, Chris Basich & April Tennant Star on Chilly Night at the Bullring

While Mother Nature and Old Man Winter aren’t quite ready for race season the Tyler County Speedway is soldiering on and withstood a very chilly evening to produce a fantastic night of racing. A swelled pit area featuring 126 of the regions best racers took to the Bullring as the Hometown Racing Association presented ‘Meet Your Heroes’ Autograph Night. Thanks to all the die-hard fans and racers who came out on such a chilly night and were rewarded with first time winners mixed with a few that hadn’t won in awhile plus side by side racing and lead changes galore made for a classic night of racing at America’s Baddest Bullring.

A terrific J&R Excavating Super Late Model main event presented by Midcap Land and Timber would see Kyle Thomas and Derek Doll wage a side by side war for some 15-20 laps with Thomas on the cushion and Doll utilizing the bottom. A cat and mouse game would ensue for 2/3 of the 25 lap feature between the young duo before Thomas would eventually begin to pull away blasting around the ‘Bullring’ top shelf. Thomas of Pennsboro, WV would take his first win of the season piloting the Powell & Son Farm/Thomas & AJ Logging/ Dodd’s Sporting Goods/ State Farm/ Slicks/ Kryptonite chassis ahead of 3 time defending track champion Derek Doll who gave a valiant effort before finishing in the bridesmaid spot ahead of Corey Conley, Robbie Scott and Steve Weigle. Thomas becomes the third different winner in the Super Late division.

An absolute classic Tyler County Speedway Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Feature event would see some five different lead changes between the ‘Mad Mexican’ Troy Frazier and Spelter’s Derek Rogers. While the lead duo was in a dog fight for the top spot a gaggle of crate racers including a rapidly improving Trey Watson, last weeks winner Kyle Lukon, a top side flying Brandon Weigle and tail starting Donnie Dotson was all chomping at the bit and mixing it up in incredible fashion behind the leaders. After a thrilling 20 laps it was a very popular and crowded victory lane as the ‘Mad Mexican’ Troy Frazier would pick up his first Tyler County Speedway victory, champagne bath included. Following the Mount Clare, WV racer was Derek Rogers, tail starting Donnie Dotson, Trey Watson and Kyle Lukon. Frazier also becomes the third different winner in the Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK division at the ‘Bullring’.

Chris Basich has been close to winning at the ‘Bullring’ several times before but always managed to just come up short but the Adena, Ohio driver finally put all the pieces together and picked up his first Tyler County Speedway 2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified feature event over a stacked field of 24 cars. ‘It don’t get no better than this…picking up a win at the ‘Bullring’ stated the happy winner in victory lane, ‘if you can win at the ‘Bullring’ you can win anywhere’. The silky smooth Basich would take the win aboard the Speedy Auto Body/ TS Electric/ Blairmont Mechanical/ Outlaw 71c ahead of last weeks winner Daniel Hill, newcomer Cody Parker, Kyle Bond and exciting Nick Corbitt. Basich would be the third different winner in the very competitive AMRA Modified division at Tyler.

In the Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods presented by Poske Performance Parts it was ‘Dynamite’ Danny Thomas remaining perfect on the young season by going 3 for 3. The Friendly, WV racer would have to hold off a charging Tom Sigler to secure the threepeat aboard the sharp looking Wable Ford/ J&T Construction/ Slicks Detail. Following Thomas and Sigler were Travis Thomas, Casey Ash and Michael Thomas.

A caution plagued Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite feature would see 18 cars take the green and when the checkered flag fell it was Fairmont, WV’s John Cogar surviving to pick up his first win of the season. Behind Cogars Hillbilly Truck Repair/ Eliminator was Matt Ward, Vivian Jones, Joe McFee and Mitch Ward.

It was round #1 in the Sport Compact ‘Full Throttle Series’ and it was all April Tennant of Colliers, WV picking up the win. The former track champion and first lady of the Sport Compact division would race her way to victory aboard the B&J Performance/ Lightning McQueen Cavalier ahead of early race leader and game ‘Birdman’ Robert Frohnapfel, Colten St. John, Kevin Criswell and Philip Bubeck from the tail.

A strong contingent of MWRA Mini Wedge racers would kick off the frigid evening with Keith Powell making it three for three in the Gear 2 Graphics Junior division over Tripp Perine and Jake Casto. In the Senior division it was Ryan Hare going back to back to pick up his second win of the season ahead of the ‘Waterboy’ Luke Hyre and Trent Baker.

Be sure to join us next Saturday Night, May 5th at the Tyler County Speedway for the first ‘Big’ show of the season as the Hometown Racing Association presents ‘Topless Night’ at the Bullring. A double dose of regional crown jewels will be what’s up at America’s Baddest Bullring as the 24th Annual Topless 50 for Super Lates and the 7th Annual ‘Let It Ride 55’ for Modifieds will share the packed card. All classes are ‘Topless’ except for Sport Compacts giving fans a unique birds eye view of the racers as they battle each other and the 1/4mile ‘Bullring’. A can’t miss night as the month of May kicks off at the Tyler County Speedway.

Tyler County Speedway Feature Results for April 28, 2018

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land & Timber Feature Finish: Kyle Thomas, Derek Doll, Corey Conley, Robbie Scott, Steve Weigle, Pete Crum, Brian Baumberger, Michael Lake, Jeromy Misel, Cody Rogers, DNS Scott Irvin, Tyler Stutler

2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified Feature Finish: Chris Basich, Daniel Hill, Cody Parker, Kyle Bond, Nick Corbitt, Chad Smith, Scotty Peltz, Codi Eaton, Cody Brightwell, Joel Prosser, Kevin Miller, Doug Carson, Larry Yanero, Jim Ruckman, Chad Roush, Nathon Loney, Shawn Jett, Bud Watson, DNQ Matt Yost, Matthew Chenowith, Bill Shaffer, Justin Hart, Kurt Rogers, Carl Williamson

Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model Feature Finish: Troy Frazier, Derek Rogers, Donnie Dotson, Trey Watson, Kyle Lukon, Sparky Davisson, AJ Spagnuola, Garrett Jones, Wylie Ford, Katelyn Frazier, Corey Sines, Brandon Weigle, Jared Kane, Chad Sines, Tiffany Jackson, Mike Mason, Ryan Payne, DNS James Swenskie

Sport Compact Full Throttle Series Race #1 Feature Finish: April Tennant, Robert Frohnapfel, Colten St. John, Kevin Criswell, Philip Bubeck, Jerry Adkins, Corey Durig, Chris Voyer, Bill Tennant, Mike Baker, Wesley Tennant, DNS Ethan Drain, Steven Edwards

Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite Feature Finish: John Cogar, Matt Ward, Vivian Jones, Joe McFee, Mitch Ward, Scott Sole, Ryan Jones, John Snider, Alex Robinson, Daniel Eddy, Matt Pyles, Rod Jones, Josh Baldwin, Sam Richards, Ryan Saffell, RJ Gonzalez, DNS Shawn Kernan, Kenny Harris

Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods presented by Poske Performance Parts Feature Finish: Danny Thomas, Tom Sigler, Travis Thomas, Casey Ash, Michael Thomas, Roland Bell, Anastasia Allman, Ron Craddock, Zack Robinson, Tim Dennison, Mackenzie Dotson, Cody Henthorn, Kevin Dotson, Jeff Gorrell, Randy Bise, Roland Fullmer, DNS Paul Baker

Gear 2 Graphics Senior Mini Wedge Feature Finish: Ryan Hare, Luke Hyre, Trent Baker, Dalton Goode, Josalyn Hibbard, George Casto III, Isaac Ezell, Lucas Zombotti, Gage Stalder, Allen Clark, Donnie Dotson IV, Ethan McCune, Shelby Cochran, DNS Zach Wigal

Gear 2 Graphics Junior Mini Wedge Feature Finish: Keith Powell, Tripp Perine, Jake Casto, Wyatt Demoss, Lincoln Smith, Kristopher Wyatt, Logan Clark, Carson Thomas, Hunter Dotson