Travis Brown Wins First Ever Feature; Father Son Dotson Duo Grab Pair of Wins at Bullring

Travis Brown Wins First Ever Feature; Father Son Dotson Duo Grab Pair of Wins at Bullring

Week number two of the young season at Tyler County Speedway was on full display Saturday Night as the ‘Bullring’ welcomed another very nice crowd out for ‘Dirt Cheap’ 80’s Night. A fun filled evening at the track featuring an 80’s themed night with tickets rolled back to just $8 and several kid activities including a pre-race pit tour and ‘gold rush’ at intermission. An emotional evening in the Tyler County Speedway victory lane that would see young Travis Brown notch his career first win and the Father & Son Dotson duo grabbing wins on the same night.

A storybook start to the 2019 racing season for the Irvin Brown Racing team has played out in the seasons first two weeks. Last week would see Robbie Scott in the Sam Irvin owned machine park his XR-1 in victory lane and this week young Travis Brown from Jacksonburg, WV would pick up his first ever Super Late feature win. From a devastating garage fire two years ago to going 2 for 2 in the Super Late Model division the Irvin Brown Racing team has had a stranglehold on the ‘Bullring’ victory lane so far in 2019. Brown would dominate his heat and followed that performance up with a blistering pace in the J&R Excavating Super Late Model feature presented by Midcap Land and Timber. Brown aboard the sharp looking CBRP/ Jacksonburg Pit Stop/ Hometown Gas/ Rocket XR-1 #31 would blast off the front row in convincing fashion and take the popular checkered flag. Following Brown across the line was Shane Hitt, Robbie Scott, Brian Baumberger and Kyle Thomas.

A stacked and healthy field of 22 UMP Modifieds would take to the Bullring with Jesse Wisecarver and young Pennsylvania hot shoe Drake Troutman pacing the field. Troutman would take the initial lead with Wisecarver in hot pursuit working the youngster high and low. Tragedy would strike young Troutman as on lap 7 drive shaft woes would sideline the #7 machine. The ‘Outlaw’ Jesse Wisecarver of Zanesville, Ohio would take the point and cruise to his first win of the 2019 season aboard the Bruce Takach owned #65. Following Wisecarver across the line was veteran Mark Dickson, thirteen year old Mitch Thomas with another impressive drive, Chris Basich and Paul Baker.

Celebrating his 30th year of racing, West Union, WV’s Donnie Dotson would park his Slicks Car Wash & Laundromat/ Payne Trucking / Special Thanks Jim & Vickie / Rocket Chassis in the Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model division victory circle. A big time battle behind Dotson that would see young Brandon Weigle, Kyle Thomas and AJ Spagnuola going back and forth in a battle for the runner-up spot. When the checkered flag fell it was Dotson nabbing his first win of the season followed by Brandon Weigle, Kyle Thomas, AJ Spagnuola and Michael Bland.

A highly entertaining Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod main event presented by Poske Performance Parts would see the economical division shoot out for a guaranteed starting spot in the huge $5,000 to win B-Mod Battle Royale during the Mega 100 weekend. A great cat and mouse game between last week’s winner Steven Dotson and last seasons track champion Danny Thomas would see the duo battle throughout the event. Dotson would take the point and work the races duration to hold back the charges of the 7JR machine as Thomas would work the high and low. When the checkered flag flew it would be Dotson aboard the Ryan Payne owned Dirtworks machine sponsored by Watson Ruppel Performance/ Payne Trucking/ Pratt Mascio Self Storage/ Ryan Payne Motorsports/ BudLight sharp #12 going 2 for 2 on the young season. Following Dotson across the line was Danny Thomas, Tom Sigler, Steve Magyar and Brandon McGrady.

In a wild Modlite main event it was Fairmont, WV’s John Cogar going back to back in the Hillbilly Truck Repair machine. Following Cogar across the stripe was Jeff Fornash, Josh Baldwin, Ryan Saffell and Kenny Harris. Early race contender Mitch Ward would take a wild tumble down the backstretch and thankfully the popular Ward was ok.

The Jenkins Auto Parts MWRA Mini Wedges would kick off the program with Ryan Hare snaring the Senior division win over Ethan McCune and George Casto and in the Junior division it was Jake Casto besting Wyatt Demoss and Carson Thomas.

In the new class of ‘Bullring Bombers’ it was Alma, WV’s Bill Doll grabbing the win over Dalton Goode.

Join us next Saturday Night, April 20th as Tyler County Speedway welcomes the BRP Big Block Modified Tour to America’s Baddest Bullring. The lone visit to the Mountain State by the ground pounding ‘Big Block’ machines is not to be missed. Plus regular racing in all other classes and a Kids Easter Egg Hunt is also on tap. Gates open at 3pm, Mini Wedges at 5:30, Hotlaps at 6:00 with General Admission $15, children 10 and under Free, Pits $35.

Saturday Night, April 13th Tyler County Speedway Feature Results

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber Feature Results: Travis Brown, Shane Hitt, Robbie Scott, Brian Baumberger, Kyle Thomas, Henry Hornsby, Mike Basich, Michael Lake, Derek Doll, DJ Troutman, Danny Ruza, Steve Weigle

UMP Modified Feature Results: Jesse Wisecarver, Mark Dickson, Mitch Thomas, Chris Basich, Paul Baker, Robert Garnes, Daniel Hill, Cody Brightwell, Chad Smith, Chad Roush, Doug Carson, Mark Deitch, Jim Ruckman, Justin Hart, Larry Yanero, Matt Yost, Randy Bohan, Kurt Rogers, Ron Deitch, Ryan Jones, Drake Troutman, DNS Derrick Thomas

Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model Feature Results: Donnie Dotson, Brandon Weigle, Kyle Thomas, AJ Spagnuola, Michael Bland, Ryan Payne, Troy Frazier, Derrick Shaw, Trey Watson, Hayden Jacobs, Kenny Rucker, Brent Trimble, Wylie Ford, DNS Luke Hyre, Gary Willey

Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods presented by Poske Performance Parts Feature Results: Steven Dotson, Danny Thomas, Tom Sigler, Steve Magyar, Brandon McGrady, Roland Bell, Mick Baker, Brian Clegg, Kevin Dotson, Ron Craddock, BJ Dennis, Anastasia Allman, Casey Ash, Michael Thomas, Roland Fulmer, Zack Robinson, DNS Jeff Gorrell, Travis Thomas, James Schnegg, Daniel Muldrew

Modlite Feature Results: John Cogar, Jeff Fornash, Josh Baldwin, Ryan Saffell, Kenny Harris, Mitch Ward,` DNS Daniel Eddy

Bullring Bomber Feature Results: Bill Doll, Dalton Goode

Jenkins Auto Parts MWRA Mini Wedge Junior Feature: Jake Casto, Wyatt Demoss, Carson Thomas, Keith Powell, Remy Demoss, DNS Peyton Baker

Jenkins Auto Parts MWRA Mini Wedge Senior Feature: Ryan Hare, Ethan McCune, George Casto, Allen Clark, Tripp Perine, Logan Beam