Shane Hitt, KC Burdette and Matt Ward Score 1st Wins of Season on Patriot 200 Night at the Tyler County Speedway

Shane Hitt, KC Burdette and Matt Ward Score 1st Wins of Season on Patriot 200 Night at the Tyler County Speedway

(Middlebourne, WV)  A great night of racing action as the Tyler County Speedway would play host to the Patriot 200, a unique event in which heat races are waved in favor of qualifying and a feature only format.  Ten divisions would be on the docket and a superb night of racing in all classes would treat fans with a lightning quick ten feature program taking the final checkered flag at 9:45.

In the J&R Excavating Super Late division presented by Midcap Land and Timber it was Shane Hitt of Buckhannon, WV picking up his first ever Tyler County Speedway Super Late Model win.  It would not come easy as the ‘Hitman’ would hound early race leader Kyle Thomas in the races early portion before taking command at the races midpoint.  Once in the lead, the driver of the Hitt Enterprise/ Leggett Motorsport/ Jenkins Ford/ Rocket Chassis would have to contend with and hold off five-time feature winner this season Derek Doll.  Following Hitt across the stripe was Doll, Thomas, Brian Baumberger and Steve Weigle.

Parkersburg, WV native KC Burdette would win a great 2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified main event.  Three different leaders would pace the strong field of modifieds as Martins Ferry, Ohio’s JE Stalder would blister around the ‘Bullring’ setting the early pace while defending track champion Shawn Jett would wrestle the lead away at the race midpoint.  While Jett seemed poised to put his familiar #1J back in the Tyler County Speedway victory circle all eyes were on a closing KC Burdette.  The duo would partake in a cat and mouse game with Burdette finding the way around Jett to take the race lead.  Once out front the driver of the 44KC would secure his first win of the season at the ‘Bullring’.  Following Burdette was Jett, Stalder, Nick Corbitt and Rex Frohnapfel with a great run to round out the top five.

Kyle Lukon of Burgettstown, PA aboard the Phil Lukon owned #184 would pick up his fourth Tyler County Speedway Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK late model feature of the season.  The 6th starting Lukon would have to work his magic as a terrific race long battle with early leader Tyler Stutler would keep fans on the edge of their seats throughout.  Lukon would eventually grab the lead from young Stutler in route to the win aboard his Yohe Excavating/Phil Lukon’s Reb-Fab, Ingram Engine Rocket.  Following Lukon and Stutler were AJ Spagnuola with a season best 3rd place run and a couple of youngsters in Brandon Weigle and Trey Watson.

10th starting Travis Thomas of Alma would pick his way to the front in impressive fashion as the past track champion and many time feature winner would earn the Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod main presented by Poske Performance Parts.  Thomas would notch the victory ahead of Kenny Isner, Rocky Mayle, Jeff Gorrell and Paul Baker.

In the Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite division it was Matt Ward of Bridgeport, WV picking up the popular win.  It would be Ward’s first ever Modlite Feature win at the Tyler County Speedway.  A great race in the modlite division would see Ward blast off to the early lead while perennial winner Josh Baldwin would overtake Ward during the races halfway point and seem poised for another win.  Not to be denied however as the talented duo would race up on lap traffic it would be Ward wrestling the lead back from Baldwin to secure his first win.  Following Ward’s/ Ward Welding Fabrication/ Teeter Motorsports/ Cookies by Meagan Leader Chassis was the aforementioned Baldwin, Ryan Saffell, Daniel Eddy and Brandon Fluharty.

It was the Husband and Wife duo once again in the 4 Cylinder division as Colliers, WV crew of Bill and April Tennant picking up first and second followed by Jason Frazier, newcomer Butch Whitecotton and Ethan Drain.

It had been an 11 year hiatus for Fleming, Ohio’s Mike Martin since he last sat in the Tyler County Speedway victory lane but with the return of the Street Stock division as part of the Patriot 200 it seemed just like business as usual for the driver of the ‘Think Pink Express’.  Martin aboard the Mike’s Auto Body/ Hadley Funeral Home/ DMG Automotive Huff Chassis would pick up the win over Kyle Michalo, Jason Ammons, Anthony Arbogast and Teresa Vaughn.

The Mini Late Models would make their first appearance with a familiar name parking his ride in the Tyler County Speedway victory lane as former modlite racer ‘Smokin’ Joe McFee would garner the win ahead of Nick Swain, Kyle Breedlove, Shawn Donahue and Jake Swain.

The next generation of speedsters would kick off the program as the MWRA Junior division would see George Casto III pick up the win over Keith Powell and Natalie Hibbard.  While in the Senior division it was Dalton Goode grabbing his first win ahead of last weeks winner Ethan McCune and Lucas Zombotti.

No racing next Saturday Night, July 15th as we take a mid-summer break for Jamboree in the Hills and the big 2 day weekend at the Elkins Motor Speedway as they present their Skidmore and Frederick Memorial events.  The ‘Bullring’ will return on Saturday July 22nd for a complete night of exciting racing action.

Saturday Night, July 8th Patriot 200 Results

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber Feature:  Shane Hitt, Derek Doll, Kyle Thomas, Brian Baumberger, Steve Weigle, Travis Brown, Steven Dotson, Brandon McGrady, Mike McGinnis

Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Feature:  Kyle Lukon, Tyler Stutler, AJ Spagnuola, Brandon Weigle, Trey Watson, Braeden Dillinger, Danny Thomas, Kris Southern, Sparky Davisson, Chuck Kimble, Tiffany Jackson, Mike Mason, Wylie Ford, Garrett Jones, Troy Frazier, Aldon Butcher, Katelyn Frazier, DNS Chad Boggess

Two Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified Feature:  KC Burdette, Shawn Jett, JE Stalder, Nick Corbitt, Rex Frohnapfel, Chad Smith, Joel Prosser, Tommy Powell, Bud Watson, Cody Faulk, Doug Crall, Tyler Jones, Michael Stevens, Martin Lamm, Derek Doll, Frazier, DNS Cody Henthorn

Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods presented by Poske Performance Parts Feature:  Travis Thomas, Kenny Isner, Rocky Mayle, Jeff Gorrell, Paul Baker, Mick Baker, Chad Smith, Brian Clegg, Steve Magyar, Jonathan Hutson, Lou Ennis, Levi Nolan, Brian Myers, Daniel Muldrew, James Swenskie, Jamie Thomas, Randy Bice, Casey Ash, Jordan Shaffer, Roland Fullmer

Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite Feature:  Matt Ward, Josh Baldwin, Ryan Saffell, Daniel Eddy, Brandon Fluharty, Jeff Teeters, John Cogar, Shawn Kernan, JD Hardbarker, Jacob Teeters, Roger Griffin, Mitch Ward

4 Cylinder Feature:  Bill Tennant, April Tennant, Jason Frazier, Butch Whitecotton, Ethan Drain, Randall Flanigan, Kevin Criswell, Zack Sears, Wesley Tennant, DNS Mike Baker

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Mini Wedge Junior Feature:  George Casto III, Keith Powell, Natalie Hibbard,  Logan Clark, Carson Thomas, Gavin Swiger, Anna Frohnapfel

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Mini Wedge Senior Feature:  Dalton Goode, Ethan McCune, Lucas Zombotti, Luke Hyre, Gage Stalder, Trent Baker, Isaac Ezell, Susie Rudolph, Philip Bubeck, Blake Runyon, Allen Clark

Mini Late Model Feature:  Joe McFee, Nick Swain, Kyle Breedlove, Shawn Donahue, Jake Swain

Street Stock Feature:  Mike Martin, Kyle Michalo, Jason Ammons, Anthony Arbogast, Teresa Vaughn, Rob Pugh, Bob Chilcote