Michael Lake Snares Sunoco Shootout; Hawkins Punches Ticket to Hillbilly

Michael Lake Snares Sunoco Shootout; Hawkins Punches Ticket to Hillbilly

In a common theme to the 2017 racing season at Tyler County Speedway, Mother Nature was an unwanted entrant in Saturday Night’s event, but the ‘Bullring’ would persevere and withstand three rain delays to put the finishing touches on a great regular season.  It was Hillbilly Qualifiers and Season Championships in all divisions and 133 racers would beat Mother Nature to the checkers and use the evening for one last tune-up to the Labor Day weekend Hillbilly 100.  Some familiar faces along with a few newcomers would all visit the Tyler County Speedway victory lane and punch their ticket to the Hillbilly while many secured highly sought Season Track Championships.

In the J&R Excavating Super Late Models it was Fairmont, WV’s Jared Hawkins locking up a spot in the Hillbilly and picking up the win.  The win would not be easy however as transponder issues would relegate Hawkins to the tail of his heat race where he would calmly march to a third place finish.  The driver of the 1H would slice and dice his way from the 5th starting spot in the feature to secure the win ahead of  2017 track champion Derek Doll, Michael Lake, early race leader Kyle Thomas and Shane Hitt.

The $5,000 to win Sunoco Shootout would see a ‘winner take all’ dash between all 2017 feature winners and included Derek Doll, Jared Hawkins, Michael Lake, Shane Hitt, Cody Rogers and Sonny Conley.  It would be young Michael Lake aboard the Bobby Lake machine picking up the win ahead of Derek Doll and Jared Hawkins.  It was the second year in a row for Lake to pick up the Sunoco Shootout!

A stout field of 23 FASTRAK Late Models would arrive seeking a guaranteed start in the upcoming $5,000 to win ‘Brown Jug 50’.  Corey Almond of Appomattox, Virginia would unload at the ‘Bullring’ for the first time and simply put it on go in picking up his heat race win and leading every lap of the feature for his first ever feature win.  It would not be easy for the young gun from Virginia as a pesky Henry Hornsby III would battle the entire distance running the middle groove while Almond was using the ‘Bullring’ cushion to his liking.  Following Almond and Hornsby across the stripe was Tyler Bare, Ryan Montgomery and Kris Southern.  Congratulations to the 2017 Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK track champion Burgettstown, PA’s Kyle Lukon.

Another strong field of 18 2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modifieds would see a familiar story play out as it was all Salem, WV’s Shawn Jett picking up his fourth win of the season.  Behind Jett at the line was a great race long battle between Jess Hartman and Jason Brookover.  Following Jett, Hartman and Brookover was Joel Prosser and Daniel Hill.  Jett would secure his second consecutive Tyler County Speedway AMRA Modified track championship.

Beallsville, Ohio’s Ryan Saffell would pick up his second Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite feature of the season.  Following Saffell was Mitch Ward, Scott Sole, Sam Richards and John Cogar.  Josh Baldwin is your 2017 Jenkins Auto Parts track champion.

Another huge field of 29 Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods would take to the ‘Bullring’ with Middlebourne’s Paul Baker sitting in victory lane for the first time in the 2017 season.  Baker had been knocking on the door the last few weeks but the racing gremlins had bitten the Baker race team but the driver of the 8x would put it all together on Saturday to collect the win ahead of Jordan Shaffer, Kenny Isner, Tom Sigler and in a season best run Levi Nolan.  Travis Thomas is your 2017 Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod track champion.

The bounty continues to grow on the Tennant race team.  A few newcomers would pay visit and few regulars brought their A game but once again it was April Tennant sitting in victory lane.  Following April Tennant was Kevin Criswell, Bill Tennant, Robert Frohnapfel and Justin Carpenter across the line.  The bounty now sits at $1100 for the Hillbilly 100 win and will be collected by the Tennants or someone who can beat them!  Congratulations to Bill Tennant, the Tyler County Speedway track champion in the 4 Cylinder division.

In the Gear 2 Graphics Senior MWRA Mini Wedge division it was Trent Baker picking up his first win of the season ahead of Josalyn Hibbard and Zoey Rennicker.  Keith Powell would secure his first Junior Mini Wedge win ahead of Logan Clark and George Casto III.  The 2017 Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Mini Wedge track champions are Ethan McCune and George Casto III.

The Tyler County Speedway will take a week off to prepare for the 49th Annual Hillbilly 100 on Labor Day weekend, Sept. 1-3.  Be sure to get your tickets while you still can save a few bucks, the biggest race weekend of the summer is only two weeks away.


Saturday Night, August 19th Hillbilly Qualifier/ Season Championship Results

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber Hillbilly Qualifier Feature:  Jared Hawkins, Derek Doll, Michael Lake, Kyle Thomas, Shane Hitt, Steve Weigle, Mike Benedum, Brian Baumberger, Paul Wilmoth, Sonny Conley, Travis Brown, Kurt Burge, Steven Dotson, Quenten Wyandt, Donnie Dotson, Cody Rogers, Drake Meeks, Mike McGinnis, Dewayne Proffit

Super Late Model Sunoco Shootout:  Michael Lake, Derek Doll, Jared Hawkins

2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified Feature:  Shawn Jett, Jess Hartman, Jason Brookover, Joel Prosser, Daniel Hill, Rex Frohnapfel, Codi Eaton, Cody Brightwell, Bud Watson, Kurt Rogers, Mike Conkle, Mike Baldwin, Jim Ruckman, Cody Henthorn, Justin Hart, Lance Elson, DNS:  Chad Smith, Nick Corbitt

Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model Feature:  Corey Almond, Henry Hornsby, Tyler Bare, Ryan Montgomery, Kris Southern, Kyle Lukon, Chuck Kimble, Danny Thomas, Mike Duritski, Wylie Ford, Sparky Davisson, Brian Frazee, Tiffany Jackson, Tyler Stutler, Terry Williams, Trey Watson, Brandon Weigle, Troy Frazier, DNQ:  Garrett Jones, Brian Thomas, Katelyn Frazier, Mike Mason, Chris Zickefoose

Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods presented by Poske Performance Parts Feature:  Paul Baker, Jordan Shaffer, Kenny Isner, Thomas Sigler, Levi Nolan, Mick Baker, Travis Thomas, Brian Probst, Steve Magyar, Daniel Muldrew, Tim Pennell, Casey Ash, Roland Bell, James Swenskie, Jeff Gorrell, Chad Smith, Matt Yost, Jonathan Hutson, DNQ:  Chris Thomas, John Magyar, Michael Thomas, Anastasia Allman, Heath Schultz, Roland Fulmer, Martin Lamm, Brian Myers, Mackenzie Dotson, Larry Higgins, Zack Robinson

Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite Feature:  Ryan Saffell, Mitch Ward, Scott Sole, Sam Richards, John Cogar, Daniel Eddy, Josh Baldwin, Alex Robinson, Zak Kimbrew, Ryan Jones, Travis Minor, Mason Pyles, Shawn Kernan

4 Cylinder Feature:  April Tennant, Kevin Criswell, Bill Tennant, Robert Frohnapfel, Justin Carpenter, Ethan Drain, CJ Dotson, Craig Rudolph, Sambo Cokeley, Wesley Tennant, DNS: James Schnegg

Gear 2 Graphics Senior MWRA Mini Wedge Feature:  Trent Baker, Josalyn Hibbard, Zoey Rennicker, Isaac Ezell, Blake Runyon, Shelby Cochran, Allen Clark, Susie Rudolph, Ethan McCune, Ryan Hare, Luke Hyre

Gear 2 Graphics Junior MWRA Mini Wedge Feature:  Keith Powell, Logan Clark, George Casto III, Natalie Hibbard, Bridgette Davisson, Julianna Lipscomb, Gavin Swiger, Carson Thomas, Tripp Perine