Michael Altobelli & Robbie Scott Star on Opening Night at Tyler County Speedway

Michael Altobelli & Robbie Scott Star on Opening Night at Tyler County Speedway

A perfect evening for the Season Opener at Tyler County Speedway would see a packed house and a pit full of race cars kick off the season in grand fashion as the 2019 season took the green for the 45th consecutive season at America’s Baddest Bullring. Picking up feature wins and starring on the track were Michael Altobelli, Robbie Scott, Kyle Thomas, Steven Dotson, John Cogar, Dalton Goode, Ryan Hare and Jake Casto. At intermission the first class of the ‘Bullring of Honor were presented by track promoter John Watson, emcee’s Steve Davis and Dustin Jarrett. The iconic group of Butch McGill, Earl Hill, Frank Wilson, Bud & Marshall Doll, Bud Weigle and Sonny Spencer were enshrined into their rightful place in Tyler County Speedway long standing history and ‘Bullring of Honor’.

A stacked and star studded field of UMP open wheel modifieds would take to America’s Baddest Bullring as the World’s Most Wanted Modifieds of the Renegades of Dirt would visit for the prestigious running of the ‘Let It Ride 55’. Picking up the win and grabbing the coveted slot machine trophy was Saxton, PA’s Michael Altobelli driving the Dan’s Auto Body/ Rocket by Ruhlman/ Harding owned #95. The talented Altobelli had to hold off numerous challenges from the sports best but at the end of the 55 lap event the Keystone state wheelman was the class of the field. The win culminated in a history making weekend for the talented racer as his Friday Night’s win at Hilltop Speedway in Millersburg, Ohio and by sweeping the pair of Renegade of Dirt events would give Altobelli a nice $5, 555 paycheck for his impressive weekend of work. Following Altobelli across the line was rising star and 13 year old Mitch Thomas of Maryland, ‘the outlaw’ Jesse Wisecarver, Travis Dickson and Brayden Berry in his first ‘Bullring’ appearance.

A Jim Dandy of a J&R Excavating Super Late Model main event presented by Midcap Land and Timber would see Robbie Scott park the Sam Irvin owned late model in victory lane. A classic ‘Bullring’ back and forth battle between Scott and young Michael Lake would see the impressive duo swap the lead back and forth with slide job after slide job. The instant classic would eventually have Scott pull away and grab the win over Lake, Steve Weigle, Kyle Thomas and Mike Basich. A very popular win for ‘Mighty Mouse’ and the whole Irvin Brown Racing team as a very emotional victory lane celebration would commence before the appreciative crowd. Scott pilots the Irvin owned / Jenkins Ford/ Martyn’s Service Inc./ Jacksonburg Pit Stop / XR-1 Rocket Chassis.

In a very entertaining and highly competitive Appalachian Mineral FASTRAK Late Model main event it was Pennsboro, WV’s and former FASTRAK National Champion Kyle Thomas securing the feature event. Three different leaders would try their hand at the point but the popular Thomas would wrestle the lead away from veteran Donnie Dotson and go onto win the first feature of the season. Following the Powell n’ Son Farms/ Thomas & AJ Logging / Dodd’s Sporting Goods/ Wilson Manufactured Homes/ Pizza Box/ Slicks XR-1 Rocket machine of Thomas was Donnie Dotson, Michael Duritsky, Brandon Weigle and Ryan Frazee.

Another Pennsboro resident, Steven Dotson would pass race long leader Casey Ash late in the Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod presented by Poske Performance Parts main event to secure his first win in the Hotmod class. Driving the Ryan Payne owned Dirtworks machine sponsored by Watson Ruppel Performance/ Payne Trucking/ Pratt Mascio Self Storage/ Ryan Payne Motorsports/ BudLight sharp #12 Dotson would be followed across the line by the impressive Casey Ash, Danny Thomas from the tail, Tom Sigler and Brandon McGrady.

In the Modlite division it was Fairmont, WV’s John Cogar aboard the Hillbilly Truck Repair/ Northern Mountain State Metals/ Joe’s Autoglass / Eliminator #26 picking up his first win of the season. Following Cogar across the stripe was Mitch Ward, Matt Ward, Cole Petrelle and Tyler Winger.

In the Jenkins Auto Parts MWRA Mini Wedge it was Ryan Hare grabbing the win in the Senior division over George Casto and Ethan McCune. The Junior division it was Jake Casto besting Keith Powell and Wyatt Demoss.

In the ‘Bullring Bomber’ class it was Dalton Goode picking up the victory.

Join us next Saturday Night, April 13th for ‘Dirt Cheap’ 80’s Night where we roll back the prices to just $8.00. A complete show of racing action in the Super Lates, UMP Modifieds, FASTRAK Lates, Modlites, Bombers, Mini Wedges and the EDGE Hotmods will do battle in the ‘B-Mod Battle Royale’ Qualifier. A Kids Club Pit Tour and rescheduled Gold Rush at intermission will also be on the agenda.

Tyler County Speedway Feature Results, Saturday, April 6th

Renegades of Dirt Modified Tour ‘Let It Ride 55’ Feature Finish: Michael Altobelli, Mitch Thomas, Jesse Wisecarver, Travis Dickson, Brayden Berry, Rich Michael, Seth Daniels, Kenny Johnson, Cody Brightwell, Mike McGee, Carl McKinney, Shawn Jett, Drake Troutman, Daniel Hill, Justin Hart, Mark Dickson, Dennis Lunger, Kyle Bond, Bud Watson, Chad Roush, Rick Aukland, Lance Elson, Nick Hoffman, Chad Smith, DNQ: Scott Peltz, Doug Carson, Kurt Rogers, Pete Caplinger, Rick Hulson, Cody Henthorn, Matt Yost, Larry Yanero

Super Late Model Feature Finish: Robbie Scott, Michael Lake, Steve Weigle, Kyle Thomas, Mike Basich, Danny Ruza, Brian Baumberger, Travis Brown, Scott Irvin, Tyler Stutler, DJ Troutman, Derek Doll

FASTRAK Late Model Feature Finish: Kyle Thomas, Donnie Dotson, Michael Duritsky, Brandon Weigle, Ryan Frazee, Michael Bland, Kyle Lukon, Derrick Shaw, AJ Spagnuola, Troy Frazier, Wylie Ford, Trey Watson, Luke Hyre, Gary Willey, Lucas McDonald, Ryan Payne, DNQ Kenny Rucker, Tyler Jones

EDGE Hotmod Feature Finish: Steven Dotson, Casey Ash, Danny Thomas, Tom Sigler, Brandon McGrady, Steve Magyar, Daniel Muldrew, Brian Clegg, Jeff Gorrell, Jordan Shaffer, Ron Craddock, BJ Dennis, Tom Martin, Michael Thomas, Mick Baker, Roland Fulmer, Travis Thomas, Kevin Dotson, Chris Thomas

Modlite Feature Finish: John Cogar, Mitch Ward, Matt Ward, Cole Petrelle, Tyler Winger, Chris Robinson, Ryan Saffell, Josh Baldwin, Kenny Harris, Jordan Williams, Zak Kimbrew, Jeff Fornash

Bullring Bomber: Dalton Goode

MWRA Mini Wedge Junior Division Feature Finish: Jake Casto, Keith Powell, Wyatt Demoss, Carson Thomas, Remy Demoss, Peyton Baker
MWRA Mini Wedge Senior Division Feature Finish: Ryan Hare, George Casto, Ethan McCune, Allen Clark, Logan Beam, Tripp Perine