Lukon Picks Up Biggest Career Win in ‘Great American Crate Race’

Lukon Picks Up Biggest Career Win in ‘Great American Crate Race’

A packed house and over 120 cars pitside would welcome race fans to America’s Baddest Bullring on a gorgeous Saturday Night as the Tyler County Speedway played host to the inaugural running of the ‘Great American Crate Race’ for the FASTRAK Late Models. An unbelievably talented field of 39 FASTRAK Late Models would convene in Middlebourne, WV looking for the $7,000 top prize. A tremendous race would ensue as 3 and 4 wide racing all around the ‘Bullring’ would thrill fans. Taking the checkers after swapping the lead a couple of times with South Carolina racer Ross Bailes in traffic would be defending Tyler County Speedway track champion Kyle Lukon of Burgettstown, PA. The likeable driver of the #184 machine would defend the home turf and pick up his biggest career win and hold off a who’s who at the line over the aforementioned Bailes, Zack Dohm, Matt Long and Jacob Hawkins.

In the 2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA division it was third generation racer Daniel Hill picking up his third win of the season in a dominant performance. The battle behind the #8 machine was intense to say the least as a pair of two car battles would throw down for the duration of the event. The runner up battle between veteran Larry Bond and current track point leader Chris Basich would have fans on the edge of their seat as they would run side-by-side for the races duration before Basich would eventually wrestle the bridesmaid spot from Bond on the last lap. The same side by side battle for 4th and 5th between Chad Smith and DJ Cline would shake out the same way, a war to the end with Smith edging out Cline for fourth place laurels.

A great Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod main event presented by Poske Performance Parts would see a great three car battle between previous race winners Paul Baker, Danny Thomas and Tom Sigler. The lead trio would play a game of cat and mouse for the duration of the 15 lap affair with Baker holding off the wolves to collect his second win of the season. Sigler would snatch 2nd place from current point leader Danny Thomas with Daniel Muldrew and Travis Thomas rounding out the top five.

With a single point separating the top two in the Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite class it was only fitting that second place Ryan Saffell of Beallsville, Ohio would pick up his third win of the season just ahead of point leader Daniel Eddy. Now the talented duo are sitting in a deadlock atop the standings as we head down the stretch. Following Saffell and Eddy across the stripe were Josh Baldwin, Travis Minor and John Cogar.

The always entertaining Enduro would hit the track at the end of the evening in the ‘Red, White and Blue 100’ and it was Wyatt Ford grabbing the win in the 306 machine ahead of Donnie Wamsley, Jamie America, Joe Close and Kevin Dotson.

In the Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Mini Wedge division it was newcomer Mason Todd picking up his first Junior MWRA checkered flag ahead of Jake Casto and Tripp Perine. In the Senior MWRA it was the ‘Waterboy’ Luke Hyre grabbing the win over George Casto III and Ryan Hare. Trophies courtesy of Hyres Well and Pump Service, Water Well Drilling.

Be sure to join us next Saturday Night, July 14th as it’s the rescheduled ‘Pack the Track 5’ Night featuring FREE General Admission plus it’s Kids Night featuring the Mini Wedge National Championship, Autograph Night at intermission and a huge Bike Giveaway! That’s not all as it’s also the rescheduled $500 to win 12th Annual Tammy Clegg Tribute for Hotmods and the Patriot 200 for all classes with the return of the Street Stocks as well.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS of the Great American Crate Race
(pending tire results and post race technical inspection)

1st #184 Kyle Lukon, 2nd #79 Ross Bailes, 3rd #25 Zack Dohm, 4th #55 Matt Long, 5th #13 Jacob Hawkins, 6th #5w Mark Whitener, 7th #6 Dillon Brown, 8th #39 Henry Hornsby, 9th #12 Daryl Charlier (Basey Site Equipment Hard Charger Award) 10th #30 Tyler Bare, 11th #2 Michael Bland, 12th #75 Brandon Weigle, 13th #32 Brent Trimble, 14th #15 Donnie Dotson, 15th #7a Corey Almond, 16th #14 Brandon Dillenger, 17th #0 Troy Frazier, 18th #21 Billy Beachler, 19th #K2 John Over, 20th #4 Matthew Nance, 21st #184d Derek Doll, 22nd #12 Ryan Payne, 23rd #t17 Trey Watson, 24th #75 Brett Hamm

DNQ: Wylie Ford, Tiffany Jackson, Lucas McDonald, Jared Kane, Zachary Kane, James Watson, Garrett Jones, Sparky Davidson, Terry Williams, Derrick Shaw, Garrett Paugh, Butch McGill, Katelyn Frazier, Michael Duritsky

2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified Feature Results: Daniel Hill, Chris Basich, Larry Bond, Chad Smith, DJ Cline, Cody Brightwell, Doug Carson, Dusty Boley, Jim Ruckman, Kurt Rogers, Todd Canter, Kyle Bond

Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite Feature Results: Ryan Saffell, Daniel Eddy, Josh Baldwin, Travis Minor, John Cogar, Scott Sole, Kenny Harris, Shawn Kernan, Ryan Jones

Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods presented by Poske Performance Parts Feature Results: Paul Baker, Tom Sigler, Danny Thomas, Daniel Muldrew, Travis Thomas, Steve Magyar, Casey Ash, Jeff Gorrell, Chad Smith, Kevin Dotson, Larry Higgins, Ron Craddock, Michael Thomas, Cody Henthorn, Mackenzie Dotson, Mick Baker

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Senior Division Feature Results: Luke Hyre, George Casto III, Ryan Hare, Josalyn Hibbard, Isaac Ezell, Allen Clark, Ethan McCune, Shelby Cochran, Kenneth Hawkins

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Junio Division Feature Results: Mason Todd, Jake Casto, Tripp Perine, Keith Powell, Natalie Hibbard, Julianna Thomas, Wyatt Demoss, Kristopher Wyatt, Carson Thomas, Bentley Thomas, Hunter Dotson

Red, White and Blue Enduro: Wyatt Ford, Donnie Wamsley, Jamie America, Joe Close, Kevin Dotson