Jordan Shaffer Snares First Ever Feature Win in 11th Annual Tammy Clegg Memorial

Jordan Shaffer Snares First Ever Feature Win in 11th Annual Tammy Clegg Memorial

(Middlebourne, WV)  After back to back rainouts, it was only appropriate that on Mothers-Day weekend Mother Nature would finally produce a beautiful Saturday Night for racing as the Tyler County Speedway would host the 11th Annual Tammy Clegg Memorial.  Race fans were greeted back to the ‘Bullring’ with a great night of action featuring 123 eager racers with the final checkered flag dropping at 11:20.  The theme of the night was that youth has been served at the ‘Bullring’ as a plethora of young talent is on display every Saturday Night with young guns such as Michael Lake, Kyle Lukon, Travis Dickson, Jordan Shaffer, and Josh Baldwin all picking up feature wins.

Young Jordan Shaffer of Ellenboro, WV in only his second full season aboard the sharp looking #44 sponsored by Barkers Marathon/ Davis Brothers Photos entry would grab his first career win in the Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod 11th Annual Tammy Clegg Memorial.  An impressive win over a stout 25 car field but the victory would not come easy as Shaffer would drive a flawless race as he felt the pressure of four time Tammy Clegg Memorial winner Travis Thomas breathing down his neck the entire 20 lap distance.  But the young Shaffer would stay calm as the other side of the pillow in turning back all challenges and adding his name to the Tammy Clegg Memorial record books.  Following Shaffer across the line was Thomas, Kenny Isner, first time out in 2017 and with a very impressive run was Rocky Mayle in fourth and lady racer Stevi Magyar would round out the top five.

A high quality J&R Excavating Super Late Model main presented by Midcap Land and Timber would see another young driver pick up the feature win as Uniontown, PA’s Michael Lake would roll around the ‘Bullring’ topside in convincing fashion to grab his first Tyler County Speedway win of the season.  The driver of the Bobby Lake Motorsports/ D&M Trucking/ High Gear Speed Shop/ Custom Race Engines/ Longhorn Chassis would best Kyle Thomas, a charging Robbie Scott, Brian Baumberger and Shane Hitt to the stripe.

In a very good Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model feature Kyle Lukon would hold off a charging James Watson to pick up his second win of the season at the ‘Bullring’.  The Keystone state invader seems to have found a home at the ‘Bullring’ as the young Lukon has won two of three events so far in 2017.  Lukon would seem to be on cruise control in the races early stage but as the laps waned and the leader got into lap traffic, a hard charging James Watson would make the races late stages very interesting as the duo slugged it out side by side thru lap traffic.  At the checkers it would be Burgettstown, PA Lukon grabbing the win just ahead of Watson, Derek Rogers, Henry Hornsby and Derrick Shaw.  Lukon pilots the Phil Lukon owned Yohe Excavating/Phil Lukon Reb-Fab/ Ingram Engines Rocket #184.

A stout field of 24 2 Brothers AMRA Modifeds would venture to the ‘Bullring’ looking to snap Shawn Jett’s 2 for 2 streak on the season.  When the checkered flag fell it was Gallipolis, Ohio Travis Dickson in his first visit of the 2017 season stopping Jett’s win streak.  The former Tyler County Speedway Mini Wedge and Hotmod racer would walk the dog in picking up the win uncontested, as Dickson chauffeurs the Mark Dickson owned AM Commodities/Fannin Farms PCD Chassis.  Following behind Dickson was Nick Corbitt, Shawn Jett, Lance Elson and Tommy Powell with an impressive 15th to 5th run.

Picking up back to back wins was Beallsville, Ohio driver Josh Baldwin in the Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite division.  Baldwin aboard the Saffell Trucking/J&T Paving Evolution race car would best Sam Richards, teammate Ryan Saffell, Scott Sole and John Cogar to the finish line.

Celebrating Mothers-Day early former speedway track champion April Tennant of Colliers, WV aboard the B&J Performance Lightning McQueen #95 would hold off husband Bill Tennant to win her first 4 Cylinder feature of the season.

In the Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Mini Wedge division it was Gage Stalder going 3 for 3 on the young season in the Senior division ahead of Lucas Zombotti and defending track champion Philip Bubeck.  It would be Tripp Perine going back to back in the Junior division besting Keith Powell and George Casto III.

Be sure to join us this Wednesday Night, May 17th as the Tyler County Speedway will be hosting a benefit/open practice session for the Irvin Brown Racing Team who tragically lost their entire race team in a devastating garage fire on April 23rd.  Come out and show your support for a great racing family as 100% of the proceeds will go to the Irvin Brown Race team.  Gates open at 4, practice begins at 5, full concessions will be open and a 50/50 will be held to help raise money for this worthy cause.

The Bullring will be back in action next Saturday Night, May 20th as the Hometown Racing Association presents ‘Bullring Bonus Buck Night’ as the division with the most cars will receive a free pit pass, plus $100 FQ bonus in all classes and heat win pay!  Plus bring the kiddos as a ‘Gold Rush’ will be held at intermission!

Tyler County Speedway Feature Results, May 13, 2017

Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod presented by Poske Performance Parts 11th Annual Tammy Clegg Feature Results:  Jordan Shaffer, Travis Thomas, Kenny Isner, Rocky Mayle, Stevi Magyar, Daniel Muldrew, Mick Baker, Chad Smith, Roland Bell, Lou Ennis, Kevin Dotson, Jeff Gorrell, Jamie Thomas, Steve Magyar, Brian Clegg, Casey Ash, Tom Sigler, Martin Lamm, DNS Ethan Springer, Chris Thomas, Matt Yost, Brian Myers, Anastasia Allman, Caleb Thomas, Jonathan Hutson

J&R Excavating Super Late Model presented by Midcap Land & Timber Feature Results:  Michael Lake, Kyle Thomas, Robbie Scott, Brian Baumberger, Shane Hitt, Gary Dalton, Steve Weigle, Cody Rogers, Mike Pegher, Derek Doll, Mike McGinnis

2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified Feature Results:  Travis Dickson, Nick Corbitt, Shawn Jett, Lance Elson, Tommy Powell, Rick Venham, Joel Prosser, Codi Eaton, Vic Vandergrift, Del Cunningham, Randy Bohan, Mark Dickson, Kevin Miller, JE Stalder, Doug Crall, Brent Trimble, Chad Smith, Cody Henthorn, DNS: Mike Conkle, Jim Ruckman, Robin Lashley, Kurt Rogers, Jamie McCloud, Mike Baldwin

Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model Feature Results:  Kyle Lukon, James Watson, Derek Rogers, Henry Hornsby, Derrick Shaw, Tyler Stutler, Chuck Kimble, Michael Bland, Brandon Weigle, Danny Thomas, AJ Spagnuola, Sparky Davidson, Tiffany Jackson, Katelyn Frazier, Brandon McGrady, Terry Williams, Wylie Ford, Troy Frazier, Trey Watson, Jared Kane

Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite Feature Results:  Josh Baldwin, Sam Richards, Ryan Saffell, Scott Sole, John Cogar, Troy Collins, Daniel Eddy, Matt Ward, Alex Robinson, Shawn Kerns, Travis Minor, Mason Pyles, Justin Eddy, Roger Griffin, Mitch Ward

4 Cylinder Feature Results:  April Tennant, Bill Tennant, Donnie Wamsley, Scott Critchfield, Randall Flanigan, Mike Baker, Wesley Tennant, Ethan Drain, Colin Holmes

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Junior Feature Results:  Tripp Perine, Keith Powell, George Casto III, Blaine Holmes, Bridgette Davisson, Logan Clark, Gavin Swiger, Carson Thomas

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Senior Feature Results:  Gage Stalder, Lucas Zombotti, Philip Bubeck, Ethan McCune, Trent Baker, Ryan Hare, Zoey Rennicker, Isaac Ezell, Allen Clark, Lucas Hyre, Hunter Davisson