Hawkins Brothers Dominate Bud Weigle Memorial

Hawkins Brothers Dominate Bud Weigle Memorial

(Middlebourne, WV)  A pit full of 134 racers would take to the ‘Bullring’ for the annual Bud Weigle Memorial as the Tyler County Speedway would once again pay tribute to a past speedway legend.  Highlighting the night would be the $2,000 to win J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber and it was Fairmont, WV’s Jared Hawkins driving the Eric Hudkins owned Bloomquist race car outdueling teammate Mike Benedum for the win.  Following the lead duo were sentimental favorite Steve Weigle in third, with Pennsylvania hotshoes Keith Barbara and Matt Cosner rounding out the top five.  Hawkins would also qualify for the August 20th $5k Sunoco Shootout by virtue of his victory.

A stout field of 30 AMRA Two Brothers Motorsports Modifieds would see Jacob Hawkins not be outdone by big brother as he would pilot the Junior Nolan owned #13 into the Tyler County Speedway victory circle.  Following Hawkins across the line was Nick Corbitt, Lance Elson, Tyler Evans and Kyle Bond.

Brandon Weigle and Danny Thomas would pace the 18 car Appalachia Oil and Gas FASTRAK Late Model division to the green with Weigle jumping out to an early lead.  A caution fest would slow the action as the laps would tick off a lap at a time before Weigle would relinquish the lead to Thomas before a hard charging Henry Hornsby III would take to the outside passing Thomas for lead.  The young Bradley, WV driver would drive the Henry’s Radiator Shop #39 to his first Tyler County Speedway victory of the season.  Following Hornsby was Thomas, Kris Southern, Tyler Stutler and Brandon Weigle rounding out the top five.

Daniel Eddy of Pennsboro, WV would have the fans on their feet as the 7th starting Eddy would utilize a last lap pass coming out of turn four to secure his third Chris Metz State Farm Insurance Modlite win of the season and go back to back in thrilling fashion.  Eddy would best Josh Baldwin, Scott Sole with his best run of the season would wind up third followed by Ryan Saffell and Troy Collins.

Pennsboro, WV’s Roland Bell would grab his second Gear 2 Graphic EDGE Hotmod feature event presented by Poske’s Performance Parts.  Bell would hold off Scott Moore, Mick Baker, Travis Thomas and Paul Baker aboard the Barnes Trucking/ Wilson’s Mobile Homes/ RJ Amos Concrete/ Margie’s Bar and Grill #62.

Steve Frazier of Clarksburg, WV would garner his first 4 Cylinder main event of the season ahead of Sambo Cokeley, Clifford Anderson, Bill Tennant and Donnie Wamsley.

Lucas Zombotti and George Casto III would kick off the evenings action by grabbing MWRA Mini Wedge wins.

There will be no racing this Saturday Night, August 6th due to the Tyler County Fair.  The fair track schedule includes racing on Tuesday Night, August 2nd featuring EDGE Hotmods, Modlites, 4 Cylinders and MWRA Mini Wedges, plus on Thursday Night, August 4th enjoy a night of destruction as the demolition derby will take center stage.  The ‘Bullring’ will be back in action on Saturday Night, August 13th for the 12th Annual Dickson Classic, $1,200 to win AMRA Modified special plus racing in all other divisions.  For more information visit us online at www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com.

Saturday Night, July 30th Tyler County Speedway Results

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber Feature Finish:  Jared Hawkins, Mike Benedum, Steve Weigle, Keith Barbara, Matt Cosner, Paul Wilmoth, Gary Dalton, Greg Baumberger, Dan Corrin, John Vandale, Mike Basich, Sonny Conley, Derek Doll, Robbie Scott, Donnie Dotson, Colten Burdette, Dan Morrison, Brian Baumberger

Appalachia Oil and Gas FASTRAK Late Model Feature Finish:  Henry Hornsby III, Danny Thomas, Kris Southern, Tyler Stutler, Brandon Weigle, Derrick Shaw, Trey Watson, AJ Spagnuola, Brandon Francis, Billy Brown, Garrett Jones, Joel Prosser, Troy Frazier, Luke Stevens, Kaitlyn Frazier, Kyle Lukon, Jamie America, Joe Bowie, Ryan Payne

Two Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified Feature Finish:  Jacob Hawkins, Nick Corbitt, Lance Elson, Tyler Evans, Kyle Bond, KC Burdette, Chad Smith, Darren Smith, Gerald Deitch, Colten Burdette, Shawn Jett, Chris Basich, Mike Baldwin, Tony Tatgenhorst, Doug Crall, Derek Deusenberry, Bob Page, Bruce Takach, Del Cunningham, Roy Roush, DNS:  Jim Ruckman, Michael Stevens Jr., Robin Lashley, Michael Stevens, Brad Clark, Robert Huffman, Kevin Dotson, Cody Henthorn, Derek Hubbard, Casey Fritz

Gear 2 Graphics EDGE Hotmods presented by Poske’s Performance Parts Feature Finish:  Roland Bell, Scott Moore, Mick Baker, Travis Thomas, Paul Baker, Chad Smith, Lou Ennis, Tim Pennell, Wylie Ford, Brian Clegg, Daniel Muldrew, Rocky Mayle, CJ Dotson, Larry Higgins, Jeff Gorrell, Casey Ash, Makenzie Dotson, Brian Shaffer, Levi Nolan, Josh Gump, Josh Golden, DNS: Matt Yost, Chris Thomas

Chris Metz State Farm Insurance Modlite Feature Finish:  Daniel Eddy, Josh Baldwin, Scott Sole, Ryan Saffell, Troy Collins, Brandon Fluharty, Terry Williams, John Cogar, Alex Robinson, Ryan Jones, Dylan Keplinger, Cody Anderson, Derrick Hubbard, Sam Richards, DNS Chris Robinson

4 Cylinder Feature Finish:  Steve Frazier, Sambo Cokeley, Clifford Anderson, Bill Tennant, Donnie Wamsley, Ethan Drain, Reynolds, Jason Frazier, Mikey Baker, Collin Holmes

MWRA Mini Wedge Advance Feature Finish:  Lucas Zombotti, Luke Hyre, Tyler Tennant, Philip Bubeck, Seth Richards, Dalton Anderson, Caleb Nolan, Donald Wamsley, Carson Hubbard

MWRA Mini Wedge Junior Feature Finish:  George Casto III, Trent Baker, Ethan McCune, Noah Bubeck, Tripp Perine, Allen Clark, Blane Holmes, Isaiah Wamsley