Fans and Kids Enjoy Pack the Track Night at America’s Baddest Bullring

Fans and Kids Enjoy Pack the Track Night at America’s Baddest Bullring

Travis Thomas Picks Up Sentimental Win in Clegg Tribute Race

A jam packed and enthusiastic crowd turned out at Tyler County Speedway for its annual FREE Pack the Track Night. It was also Kids Night as the youngsters were treated to a Bike Giveaway and Autograph Night at intermission. A great night of racing action would propel several fan favorite drivers into victory lane on the hot sweltering night.

In the Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods it was the 12th Annual Tammy Clegg Tribute race and it would be brother Travis Thomas garnering his 4th Clegg Tribute race victory out of the last five years. The talented and poised racer would pick up the sentimental and popular win by holding off a hard charging Tom Sigler, Steve Magyar, Chad Smith and Paul Baker.

The front wheel drive Sport Compacts would square off in Leg #3 of the Full Throttle Series and put on a show as a five car lead pack would fight hammer and tong for the races duration. Coming out on top and pleasing the huge crowd was Collier, WV’s and the first lady of Sport Compacts April Tennant. The talented driver of the Lightning Mcqueen lookalike machine would wrestle the lead away from current point leader Philip Bubeck on the last lap to secure the win. Following the impressive Tennant was Bubeck, Kevin Criswell, Bill Tennant and Ethan Drain.

A fast paced J&R Excavating Super Late Model main event would see current AMRA Late Model point leader Kyle Thomas set a torrid pace on his way to his 3rd A Main win of the season. It would not be easy for the Pennsboro, WV racer as a hard charging Shane Hitt would remain on his deck lid for the majority of the race. Following Thomas and Hitt across the line were Brian Baumberger, Derek Doll and Steve Weigle.

A dynamite 2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified main event would see the invert 6 drawn as part of the Patriot 200 show and thus setting up a fantastic race in the open wheel division. Third generation racer Daniel Hill would go back to back at the Bullring from his 6th starting spot as he would pass race long leader Chad Smith with just a couple laps to go to seal the deal. Following Hill and Smith across the line was Shawn Jett, Chris Basich and Nick Corbitt.

In the Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Models it was hometown boy Brandon Weigle picking up the popular win and winning his first of the season. The high flying driver of the #75 machine would bolt from his front row starting spot and run a steady race to secure the win. Not so easy behind Weigle as a hard fought race long battle between the ‘Mad Mexican’ Troy Frazier and last week’s ‘Great American Crate Race’ winner Kyle Lukon would thrill fans for the race duration. Following Weigle across the line were Troy Frazier, Kyle Lukon, Donnie Dotson and Sparky Davidson.

Another hometown favorite in the Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite division would see Daniel Eddy notch his third victory of the season in front of the raucous hometown crowd. The driver of the 99e machine would hold runner up Josh Baldwin at bay for the races 20 laps to pick up the win. Following the duo across the stripe was a pair of Ryan’s, Ryan Saffell and Ryan Jones with John Cogar rounding out the top five.

The Street Stocks would make a return to the Tyler County Speedway as part of our Patriot 200 show and it would be all ‘Think Pink’ as Mike Martin would return to the familiar Bullring victory lane aboard the black/pink #55. Following the excited Martin across the stripe for the win was Kyle Michalo and Josh Rovello.

The youth league of auto racing the MWRA Mini Wedges would kick off the program with a Hibbard sweep. The Hibbard girls would both use the speedways top side to secure victories in both divisions. It was Natalie Hibbard in the 10H grabbing the win in the Gear 2 Junior division over Jake Casto and Tripp Perine. Older sister Josalyn Hibbard would show the way in the Senior division over current point leader Luke Hyre and Ryan Hare.

No racing next Saturday Night as the ‘Bullring’ takes a mid-summer break but will be back in action on Saturday Night, August 28th for the Bud Weigle Memorial and kickoff to the Tyler County Fair.

The Hometown Racing Association would like to thank all the great fans that came out on Pack the Track Night and to the many fine folks that donated bicycles on Kids Night.

Tyler County Speedway Feature Results, July 14th

Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods presented by Poske Performance Parts 12th Annual Tammy Clegg Tribute Feature: Travis Thomas, Tom Sigler, Steve Magyar, Chad Smith, Paul Baker, Rocky Mayle, Danny Thomas, Casey Ash, Jeff Gorrell, Daniel Muldrew, Mick Baker, Roland Bell, Brian Clegg, Brian Shaffer, Jordan Shaffer, CJ Dotson, Larry Higgins, Brandon McGrady DNS: Tom Martin, Anastasia Allman, Roland Fulmer, Michael Thomas, Ron Craddock, Donnie Dotson, Makenzie Dotson, Kevin Dotson

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber Feature: Kyle Thomas, Shane Hitt, Brian Baumberger, Derek Doll, Steve Weigle, Travis Brown, Lance Elson, Jeremy Misel, Logan Hitt

2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified Feature: Daniel Hill, Chad Smith, Shawn Jett, Chris Basich, Nick Corbitt, Codi Brightwell, Kurt Rogers, Doug Carson, Justin Hart, Jim Ruckman, Matt Yost

Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model Feature: Brandon Weigle, Troy Frazier, Kyle Lukon, Donnie Dotson, Sparky Davidson, Wylie Ford, Joel Prosser, Garrett Jones, Tiffany Jackson, Katelyn Frazier, Ryan Payne, Trey Watson

Street Stock Feature: Mike Martin, Kyle Michalo, Josh Rovello, John Powell, James Swenskie, Mark Baier, DNS Robert Pugh

Sport Compact Feature: April Tennant, Philip Bubeck, Kevin Criswell, Bill Tennant, Ethan Drain, James Schnegg, John Gill, Wesley Tennant, Billy Pratt

Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite Feature: Daniel Eddy, Josh Baldwin, Ryan Saffell, Ryan Jones, John Cogar, Shawn Kernan, Alex Robinson, Mason Pyles, Kenny Harris, Zak Kimbrew, Scott Sole

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Junior Feature: Natalie Hibbard, Jake Casto, Tripp Perine, Keith Powell, Wyatt Demoss, Thomas, Logan Clark, Remington Demoss, Dawson Arman, Hunter Dotson

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Senior Feature: Josalyn Hibbard, Luke Hyre, Ryan Hare, Ethan McCune, George Casto III, Trent Baker, Allen Clark, Isaac Ezell, Donnie Dotson IV, Shelby Cochran