Familiar Faces Grace Tyler County Speedway Victory Lane on ‘Back to School’ Kids Night

Familiar Faces Grace Tyler County Speedway Victory Lane on ‘Back to School’ Kids Night

(Middlebourne, WV)  A beautiful night for racing at the ‘Bullring’ as the Hometown Racing Association presented ‘Back to School’ Kids Night.  A bursting pit area of 142 race cars would square off on a fast, wide and smooth ‘Bullring’ surface with several familiar faces parking their rides in victory lane.  Derek Doll, Travis Dickson, Kyle Lukon, Josh Baldwin, Jordan Shaffer, Tom Sigler, Bill Tennant and George Casto III continue great seasons while Ryan Hare notches first at ‘Bullring’ in Gear 2 Graphics Next Gen 400.

It was the young guns turn to headline the show as the kids of the Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Mini Wedge division would do battle in the Next Gen 400 Mini Wedge National Championship.  Featuring extra big trophies, winners checks and four $100 gift certificates to race sponsor Gear 2 Graphics in Middlebourne as stout field of 25 wedges would square off.  In the Junior division it was George Casto III picking up his 7th win of the season besting Tripp Perine and Keith Powell.  While in the Senior division it was Ryan Hare besting a talented field in picking up his first feature win of the season ahead of Gage Stalder and Ethan McCune.

In the J&R Excavating Super Late Model main event presented by Midcap Land and Timber it was defending two time track champion Derek Doll vaulting from his 4th starting spot to overtake race leader Kyle Thomas on his way to picking up his 6th win of the season.  The Greenwood, WV hotshoe would hold off a charging Keith Barbara, Kyle Thomas, Steve Weigle and Corey Conley to clinch the feature win.

After several restarts, the strong field of twenty one Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK late models would settle in as Burgettstown, Pennsylvania racer Kyle Lukon would maintain his point lead and secure his fifth win of the season after a hard fought side by side battle with Danny Thomas.  Lukon would eventually wrestle the lead away and pull away crossing the stripe ahead of Danny Thomas, Billy Beachler, a season best 4th place effort for Wylie Ford and Brandon Weigle.

In the 2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified division, a strong field of twenty four open wheelers would square off with Gallipolis, Ohio’s Travis Dickson aboard the AM Commodities/ PDC Race Car picking up his second win of the season at the Tyler County Speedway.  The young Dickson who is amidst a season long point battle to win the AMRA Modified National Championship would pick up the win ahead of a season best runner up finish for Daniel Hill, Mark Dickson, Bruce Takach and Chris Basich.

The most economical support division in the region would see a whopping thirty four Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods presented by Poske Performance Parts sign in setting up a unique two feature format.  Picking up feature # 1 would be young Jordan Shaffer of Cairo, WV notching his 3rd win of the year ahead of season best efforts from Casey Ash and Martin Lamm for podium finishes.  In feature #2 it was all St. Mary’s, WV’s Tom Sigler blasting from his third starting spot to claim his first win of the year ahead of Brian Probst and Travis Thomas.

Perennial winner Josh Baldwin of Beallsville, Ohio would grab his 5th feature win of the season.  The driver of the 34n would have to work his way from his fifth starting spot and would wrestle the lead away from race long leader Daniel Eddy on a late race restart and hold off the pesky Eddy to secure the win.  Following Baldwin and Eddy across the stripe was Fair race winner Sam Richards, Matt Ward and John Cogar.

Even after the Hometown Racing Association threw down the ‘Bonnie and Clyde’ Bullring Bounty offering up bonus bucks for anyone able to beat the husband and wife duo of Bill and April Tennant it appears the Bounty will be growing bigger.  The patriarch of the Tennant clan, Bill would grab his 8th win of the season besting Jason Frazier, April Tennant, Robert Frohnapfel and Zack Sears.  Next week the ‘Bounty’ will increase another $200 bringing the win total to $550 for a proper ‘Bounty’ claim.

Be sure to join us next Saturday Night, August 19th as the Tyler County Speedway will host a giant night full of action and drama as the ‘Bullring’ will present its annual ‘Hillbilly Qualifiers’ in all divisions.  A driver in each class will punch their ticket into the ‘granddaddy’ of all racing weekends as the Hillbilly Hundred fast approaches.  Plus see the $5,000 to win Sunoco Shootout for Late Models featuring all 2017 feature winners including Derek Doll, Shane Hitt, Cody Rogers, Corey Conley, Michael Lake, Sonny Conley and whomever claims the Super Late win during the Hillbilly Qualifier as these drivers will shoot it out in a winner take all dash for cash.  That’s not all as its Season Championships in all classes, be there as we crown the 2017 Tyler County Speedway track champions.

Tyler County Speedway, Feature Results for Saturday Night, August 12th 

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land & Timber Feature Results:  Derek Doll, Keith Barbara, Kyle Thomas, Steve Weigle, Corey Conley, Donnie Dotson, Ricky Conley, Brandon Francis, Doug Dodd, Pete Crum, Larry Holbrook, Steven Dotson, John Vandale, Mike McGinnis, Danny Ruza, DNS Jared Hawkins

Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model Feature Results:  Kyle Lukon, Danny Thomas, Billy Beachler, Wylie Ford, Brandon Weigle, Braeden Dillinger, Eddie Starkey, Ryan Payne, Sparky Davidson, AJ Spagnuola, Tyler Stutler, Trey Watson, Tiffany Jackson, Mike Mason, Troy Frazier, Terry Williams, Tom Keplinger, Chuck Kimble, Katelyn Frazier, Garrett Jones

2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified Feature Results:  Travis Dickson, Daniel Hill, Mark Dickson, Bruce Takach, Chris Basich, Jess Hartman, Shawn Jett, Chad Smith,  Joel Prosser, Rex Frohnapfel, Mike Baldwin, Codi Eaton, Kevin Miller, Mike Benedum, Mike Conkle, Brock Moskey, Jim Ruckman, JE Stalder, DNQ:  Cody Brightwell, Virgil Eaches, Doug Carson, Cody Henthorn, Mike Davis, Bob Moskey

Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod presented by Poske Performance Parts Feature # 1:  Jordan Shaffer, Casey Ash, Martin Lamm, Daniel Muldrew, Lou Ennis, Larry Higgins, Randy Bice, John Thomas, Jonathan Hutson, Brian Myers, Anastasia Allman, Roland Bell, Steve Magyar, Roland Fulmer, Chad Smith, James Swenskie, John Magyar

Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod presented by Poske Performance Parts Feature # 2:  Tom Sigler, Brian Probst, Travis Thomas, Mick Baker, Tim Pennell, Matt Yost, Michael Thomas, Stevi Magyar, Jeff Gorrell, Levi Nolan, Zack Robinson, Kenny Isner, Paul Baker, Brian Clegg, Mackenzie Dotson, Tim Dennison

Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite Feature Results:  Josh Baldwin, Daniel Eddy, Sam Richards, Matt Ward, John Cogar, Scott Sole, Justin Eddy, Zack Kimbrew, Ryan Jones, Travis Minor, Ryan Saffell, Mitch Ward, DNS Shawn Kernan

4 Cylinder Feature Results:  Bill Tennant, Jason Frazier, April Tennant, Robert Frohnapfel, Zack Sears, Kevin Criswell, Ethan Drain, Randall Flanigan, Wesley Tennant, John Cardar

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Mini Wedge Next Gen 400 National Championship Junior Class:  George Casto III, Tripp Perine, Keith Powell, Logan Clark, Natalie Hibbard, Gavin Swiger, Anna Frohnapfel, Carson Thomas

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Mini Wedge Next Gen 400 National Championship Senior Class:  Ryan Hare, Gage Stalder, Ethan McCune, Lucas Zombotti, Blake Runyon, Josalyn Hibbard, Luke Hyre, Brayden Beachler, Donald Wamsley, Seth Richards, Shelby Cochran, Allen Clark, Landon Marple, Isaac Ezell, DNS Rebecca Frazier, Trent Baker, Dalton Goode