Doll Wins Topless 50; Cook Grabs Dickson Classic; Baldwin Bags Herrick Memorial

Doll Wins Topless 50; Cook Grabs Dickson Classic; Baldwin Bags Herrick Memorial

Tyler County Speedway Celebrates Memorial Weekend With Battle of the Bullring

(Middlebourne, WV) America’s Baddest Bullring would swing the gates open on Sunday Night on May 27th for the ‘Battle of the Bullring’ to a jam packed pit area of 149 race cars. A great race track and a full card of Tyler County Speedway special events would greet race fans as Mother Nature would finally cooperate. Derek Doll, Taylor Cook, Josh Baldwin and Dennis Adkins grab big wins at the Bullring.

In the 24th Annual running of the Topless 50 a full field of the regions best Super Late Models would take the green. Tyler Carpenter would blast to the lead with Derek Doll in hot pursuit. Carpenter would enter traffic and be hounded the entire early race portion by the Greenwood, WV racer never getting away. As the race entered the midpoint in the attrition filled main event would see the impressive young duo of Doll and Carpenter wage a side by side, slide job infested war for the ages. The duo would slice and dice swapping the lead numerous times high and low in fantastic fashion. Doll would eventually be able to wrestle the lead away and in the races final 10 laps would pull away in the Doll Bros. #87 machine to etch his name to the history books and claim his first Topless 50 title. Following Doll across the line was Tyler Carpenter, Henry Hornsby, Steve Weigle and Michael Lake.

A strong 34 car modified field would show up to compete in the Renegades of Dirt 14th Annual Dickson Classic. Four heat races and two B-Mains would whittle the field down to a stacked A-Main lineup. A terrific three car race long battle would ensue among North Carolina’s Taylor Cook, West Virginia’s Daniel Hill and Ohio’s Jesse Wisecarver. Cook would blast to the lead with Wisecarver and Hill working the Tar Heel state driver high and low in thrilling fashion. In the end it would be Stanley, NC’s Cook and defending Mega 100 winner grabbing the 14th Annual Dickson Classic aboard the Harris Race Cars/ Scott Rod Fab/ Penske Racing Shocks/ Wix Filters Harris race car. Following Cook was Daniel Hill, Jesse Wisecarver, Jess Hartman and DJ Cline in an excellent feature event.

The Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite division would square off in the 8th Annual Pat Herrick Memorial. Josh Baldwin of Beallsville, Ohio would grab back to back Herrick titles in convincing fashion. Following the 34n machine across the stripe was teammate Ryan Saffell, Daniel Eddy, John Cogar and Matt Ward.

Young gun Trey Watson of Weston, WV would snare back to back wins in the Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model division. An early battle between a pair of Weston racers would see Watson snag the lead from up and coming Sparky Davisson. Watson would hold off Kyle Lukon, Sparky Davisson, Ryan Payne and from the tail Donnie Dotson.

Another Thomas show in the Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod division presented by Poske Performance Parts. This week it would be cousins Travis and Danny at the front along with another Thomas, that of Thomas Sigler that would battle at the front. A great battle up front between the threesome but at the checkers it would be Middlebourne, WV’s Travis Thomas garnering his second straight win over Danny Thomas, Thomas Sigler, Lou Ennis and Paul Baker.

A big field of Sport Compacts would take the green in the 2nd race of the Sport Compact Full Throttle Series with the thirteen thousand dollar man Dennis Adkins paying a rare visit to the Bullring and picking up the win. A great battle at the front would see Adkins hold off Bill Tennant in wife April’s car and Tom Adkins, Kevin Criswell and Wesley Tennant.

The kids of the MWRA Mini Wedge division would set the table for the evenings activities and picking up wins were Keith Powell in the Junior Division and Luke Hyre in the Senior Division.

Join us this coming weekend, May 31-June 2nd as the Tyler County Speedway presents the record setting $15,000 to win Dirt Modified Mega 100.

Sunday Night, May 27 Tyler County Speedway Results

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber 24th Annual Topless 50 Feature Finish: Derek Doll, Tyler Carpenter, Henry Hornsby, Steve Weigle, Michael Lake, Cody Rogers, Tyler Jones, Kyle Thomas, Derek Stefanick, Chuck Kimball, John Wyer, Shane McLoughlin, Kurt Burge, Wayne Francis, Zack Dohm, Tyler Stutler, Brandon Francis, Brian Baumberger, Tim Dohm, David Pryor

Renegades of Dirt 14th Annual Dickson Classic Feature Finish: Taylor Cook, Daniel Hill, Jesse Wisecarver, Jess Hartman, DJ Cline, Chad Smith, Josh Tonkin, Chris Basich, Aaron Barley, Rich Michael Jr., Larry Bond, Tommy Powell, Travis Dickson, Codi Brightwell, Jason Brookover, Doug Carson, Kyle Bond, Chris Arnold, Nick Corbitt, Mark Dickson, Mike McPherson, Shawn Jett, DNQ Chad Roush, Mitch Thomas, Nick Wilson, Kurt Rogers, Jim Ruckman, Justin Hart, Kevin Miller, Robin Lashley, Drake Troutman

Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite 8th Annual Pat Herrick Memorial Feature Finish: Josh Baldwin, Ryan Saffell, Daniel Eddy, John Cogar, Matt Ward, Alex Robinson, Bo Pratt, Ryan Jones, Shawn Kernan, Kenny Harris, Tanner McLoughlin, Scott Sole, Tyler Riggs, Mitch Ward

Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model Feature Finish: Trey Watson, Kyle Lukon, Sparky Davisson, Ryan Payne, Donnie Dotson, Kris Southern, Troy Frazier, Andy Spooner, Craig Daft, Brandon Weigle, Wylie Ford, Robbie Scott, Katelyn Frazier, Terry Williams, Garrett Jones, James Watson, Derek Rogers, Michael Duritsky, Derrick Shaw, AJ Spagnuola, Ryan Frazee, Stan Spooner

Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods presented by Poske Performance Parts Feature Finish: Travis Thomas, Danny Thomas, Thomas Sigler, Lou Ennis, Paul Baker, Daniel Muldrew, Cody Henthorn, Chad Smith, Brian Clegg, Steve Magyar, Kevin Dotson, Casey Ash, CJ Dotson, Jeff Gorrell, Ron Craddock, John Thomas, Jon Hutson, Roland Bell, James Swenskie, Michael Thomas, Mackenzie Dotson, Richard Britton, DNS Chaz Gump, Tim Dennison

Sport Compact Full Throttle Series Race #2 Feature Finish: Dennis Adkins, Bill Tennant, Tom Adkins, Kevin Criswell, Wesley Tennant, Wes Staley, Phillip Bubeck, Keith Lowe, Ethan Drain, James Schnegg, John Gill, Kevin Jackson, Cory Durig, Wayne Newberry, Sambo Cokeley, Tyler Tennant

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Senior Division: Luke Hyre, Trent Baker, George Casto III, Josalyn Hibbard, Isaac Ezell, Shelby Cochran, Ryan Hare, #22, Dalton Goode, Allen Clark, #0, Ethan McCune

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Junior Division: Keith Powell, Tripp Perine, Jake Casto, Natalie Hibbard, Julianna Lipscomb, Wyatt Demoss, Carson Thomas, Hunter Dotson, Logan Clark