Derek Doll, Shawn Jett and Bill Tennant Repeat; Travis Thomas Punches Ticket to Workin’ Man World Championship

Derek Doll, Shawn Jett and Bill Tennant Repeat; Travis Thomas Punches Ticket to Workin’ Man World Championship

(Middlebourne, WV)  With Mother Nature leading the season on wins so far in the young season, the Hometown Racing Association persevered through a chilly night, early day showers, and an unfavorable forecast to close the books on race #2 of the 2017 season at Tyler County Speedway.  Repeating opening night wins was Derek Doll, Shawn Jett, Bill Tennant and Gage Stalder while Henry Hornsby III, Josh Baldwin, Travis Thomas and Tripp Perine would notch their seasons first.

Headlining the Bridgeport Equipment Night at the Bullring would be the first Workin’ Man World Championship Qualifier event of the season for the Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod division presented by Poske Performance Parts.  Picking up the win and punching his ticket into the Simonton Windows WMWC event coming up in October would be perennial winner, past track champion and fan favorite Travis Thomas of Alma, WV.  Thomas pilots the Norman Jackson Trucking/ Sigler Fabrication/ Lakeside Pizza #18 and would pick up the win ahead of a closing Roland Bell, rapidly improving Daniel Muldrew, Jordan Shaffer and Tim Pennell.

Boasting back to back wins in the J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber was Greenwood, WV’s Derek Doll.  Blasting from his front row starting spot, the driver of the legendary Doll Bros. machine would blister the ‘Bullring’ in near track record speed on the lightning quick surface.  Following Doll across the line was Kyle Thomas, Steve Weigle, Colten Burdette and Brian Baumberger.

After picking up his first 2 Brothers AMRA Modified main event last week, Salem, WV’s Shawn Jett looks like he may have a stranglehold on the Tyler County Speedway Victory Circle.  Following Jett’s Crusader Fabrication/Jett Motorsports/ Rocket Chassis/ Doll Bros. #1J was a hard charging Jason Brookover, Nick Corbitt, Chad Smith and Jim Ruckman recording his first top five finish in the very competitive AMRA Modified division.

After a nasty mishap with the turn three guardrail in week one, young Henry Hornsby III would return with a vengeance and pick up his first Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model feature of the season in dominating fashion.  The Bradley, WV driver chauffeurs the Henry’s Radiator Shop Inc., AAA Mini Storage, Bradley Car Wash, Longhorn chassis #39.  Following Hornsby to the checkered was last weeks winner Kyle Lukon, a great battle for third was waged with Sonny Conley, Brandon Weigle and Chuck Kimble rounding out the top five.

In the modlite main event it was Beallsville, Ohio’s Josh Baldwin snaring his first win of the young season.  The driver of the Saffell Trucking/ J&T Paving Evolution Modlite would hold off 7th starting and last weeks feature winner Mitch Ward, Daniel Eddy, Scott Sole and Brandon Fluharty.

For the second week in a row it was Colliers, WV 4 Cylinder ace Bill Tennant in the B&J Performance #2 Cavalier grabbing the feature win.  Following Tennant across the stripe was matrimonial better half April Tennant in the slick looking Lightning McQueen #95, Donnie Wamsley, Ethan Drain and Wesley Tennant.

The next generation racers would hit the ‘Bullring’ running with Gage Stalder picking up the MWRA Senior division crown ahead of Lucas Zombotti and Trent Baker.  In the Junior MWRA feature it was Tripp Perine notching the win just ahead of George Casto III and Keith Powell.  Trophies were generously donated by Sam Watson Trucking for the youth league of auto racing.

Join us next Saturday Night, April 29th for the rescheduled Renegades of Dirt AMRA Modified ‘Let it Ride 55’ paying $3,055 to win for the best open wheel modified drivers on the east coast.   Gates open at 4pm, hotlaps/qualifying 6:30, general admission is $15 with pits priced at $35.

Saturday Night, April 22 Feature Results

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber Feature Finish:  Derek Doll, Kyle Thomas, Steve Weigle, Colten Burdette, Brian Baumberger, Scott Irvin, Michael Lake, Gary Dalton, Freddy Carpenter, Donnie Dotson

2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified Feature:  Shawn Jett, Jason Brookover, Nick Corbitt, Chad Smith, Jim Ruckman, Cody Brightwell, Ronnie Schmitt, Doug Crall, Cody Henthorn, Del Cunningham, Codi Eaton, Jason Jarrett, Joel Prosser, Aaron Barley, DNS Josh Tonkin

Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model Feature:  Henry Hornsby III, Kyle Lukon, Sonny Conley, Brandon Weigle, Chuck Kimble, Brandon McGrady, Trey Watson, Derrick Shaw, Tyler Stutler, Jamie Watson, Sparky Davidson, Wylie Ford, Kaitlyn Frazier, Garrett Jones, Danny Thomas, Tiffany Jackson

Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmod presented by Poske Performance Parts Feature Finish:  Travis Thomas, Roland Bell, Daniel Muldrew, Jordan Shaffer, Tim Pennell, Chad A. Smith, Martin Lamm, Jeff Gorrell, Anastasia Allman, Brian Myers, Heath Schultz, Jonathan Hutson, Matt Yost, Caleb Thomas, Chris Thomas, Kenny Isner, Mick Baker, Steve Magyar, DNS Stevi Magyar

Modlite Feature Finish:  Josh Baldwin, Mitch Ward, Daniel Eddy, Scott Sole, Brandon Fluharty, Ryan Saffell, John Cogar, Alex Robinson, Sam Richards, Shawn Kernen, Ryan Jones, Roger Griffin

4 Cylinder Feature:  Bill Tennant, April Tennant, Donnie Wamsley, Ethan Drain, Wesley Tennant, Scott Critchfield, Shania Doll, Kevin Criswell

Gear 2 Graphics MWRA Mini Wedge Senior Feature:  Gage Stalder, Lucas Zombotti, Trent Baker, Tristan Borkoski, Ethan McCune, Luke Hyre, Zoey Rennicker, Josalyn Hibbard, Ryan Hare, Allen Clark  (Trophies presented by Sam Watson Trucking)

Junior Feature:  Tripp Perine, George Casto III, Keith Powell, Natalie Hibbard, Carson Thomas, Logan Clark, Gavin Swiger  (Trophies presented by Sam Watson Trucking)