Tyler County Speedway Puts Lid on Successful 2017 Season; Revs Up for 2018

Tyler County Speedway Puts Lid on Successful 2017 Season; Revs Up for 2018

A great crowd would congregate at the Lewis/Wetzel Family Center to show their appreciation and honor the many individual achievements garnered during the 2017 racing season at the Tyler County Speedway. Lots of fun bench racing and fellowship would welcome those in attendance before a great meal courtesy of the fine folks of Quinets Catering would set the stage before a plethora of trophies was distributed to the strong weekly cast of racers that call the ‘Bullring’ home. Promoter John Watson would take the mic to talk about the exciting 2018 schedule and layout plans for future track upgrades before turning to the voice of the Tyler County Speedway Steve Davis and the awards portion of the program.

Picking up his third straight J&R Excavating Super Late Model track championship presented by Midcap Land and Timber was Derek Doll of Greenwood, WV. Doll pilots the familiar and legendary Doll Bros. machine that has made the Tyler County Speedway victory lane a second home for four generations for many of the most successful racers in the region. Doll would snare his biggest win to date picking up the 29th Annual Earl Hill Memorial enroute to his championship run.

Burgettstown, Pennsylvania racer Kyle Lukon would set his sights on a Tyler County Speedway track championship in 2017 for the first time. After making the long trek to the ‘Bullring’ weekly, Lukon make his bid for his first title in the Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Model division a success.
Shawn Jett of Salem, WV would go back to back in the 2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modified division. Jett aboard the sharp looking blue and white 1J machine would put forth a solid campaign from beginning to end in the very competitive AMRA open wheel division.

Beallsville, Ohio’s Josh Baldwin would grab the championship back from teammate Ryan Saffell in 2017 in the Jenkins Auto Parts Modlite division. Baldwin would have a remarkable season picking up several big wins on his way to notching championship number three in the Modlite division.

The Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods presented by Poske Performance Parts would see Travis Thomas of Alma pick up his 4th Hotmod championship, quite a feat considering the highly competitive nature and biggest class competing at the ‘Bullring’. On behalf of Sweeney Buick GMC, Pace Performance and Race-1, Brad Hibbard presented $2000 in contingency money to Hot Mod competitors utilizing the GM 602 Engine Option. Hibbard explained, ‘that not everyone has the resources to build their own engine and the GM 602 crate option has proven to be a reliable and affordable option’. Mick Baker and Daniel Muldrew would race their way to four feature wins, a multitude of heat victories, and secure 3rd and 4th place point finishes by taking advantage of the highly competitive 602 engine option.

The ‘Bonnie & Clyde’ Duo of Bill & April Tennant of Colliers, WV would celebrate a 1-2 finish in the point standings in the Sport Compact division. A dominant season that would see the impressive duo snare all but one checkered flag of the season. A truly special season for the husband and wife team.

The youth league of auto racing was well represented at the Annual Banquet as both the Junior and Senior divisions would take center stage. Ethan McCune would grab his first championship banner in the Gear 2 Graphics Senior division while young George Casto III, sporting his familiar mohawk would snare back to back championships in the Gear 2 Graphics Junior division.

Tim Gillette would pick up the Enduro Series title while Jason Glover and Ryan Kuhn would share accolades in the Kings of Karnage Series conducted at the speedway in 2017.

The Hometown Racing Association would like to congratulate the track champion racers on their 2017 accomplishments and thank the over five hundred different competitors who graced the speedways gates for competition, track sponsors, pit crews and especially the fans who made 2017 a season to remember. Tyler County Speedway wishes to also thank the many volunteers who helped with the banquet and also a special thanks goes out to Hoosier Racing Tire for champions jackets, Gear 2 Graphics for champion banners, C&S Racing Photos for wonderful framed photos and books, and Bridgeport Equipment and Jenkins Auto Parts for door prizes.