30th Annual Earl Hill Memorial To Take the Green Saturday Night at Tyler County Speedway

30th Annual Earl Hill Memorial To Take the Green Saturday Night at Tyler County Speedway

(Middlebourne, WV) America’s Baddest Bullring is excited to welcome the Ultimate North East Super Late Model Series and the Ultimate Mid Ohio Valley Super Late Model Series for the co-sanctioned 30th Annual Earl Hill Memorial on Saturday Night, May 12th. A rich and storied event at the Tyler County Speedway in honor of the late great Earl Hill Memorial that will pay $5,000 to win for the 50 lap A-Main. A star studded field of regional hot-shoes from both regions are expected to tangle with the Bullrings best in a bid to add their name to the history books and become winner of the 30th Annual Earl Hill Memorial.

ABOUT THE 30TH ANNUAL EARL HILL MEMORIAL: Earl Hill is arguably the most successful dirt Late Model racer in the history of the Tyler County Speedway and possibly in the state of West Virginia. Hill was nearly unbeatable at times in the track’s history and likely holds all the track records of his era. Earl amassed well over 300 feature wins in his driving career, primarily driving the Jr. Thomas owned #8 or the Doll Brothers entries. Known as ‘Smiley’ to friends, Hill was recognizable for his polka dot welders cap and handlebar mustache outside of the car, and his surgical-like skills behind the wheel in the car. The winner of the final race ever held at the defunct Morgantown Speedway and the first ever Tyler County Speedway track champion, Hill racked up championships, wins and top 3 finishes by the score in the tri-state area and especially Tyler County. Despite his domination at times, Hill remained a crowd favorite, a testament in itself of the popularity of the man. Children, especially those with disabilities were favorites to Earl, with many leaving the track on race night with the trophy that Hill had won that evening. The very definition of ‘gentleman racer’, Earl Hill is fondly remembered with the Earl Hill Memorial race.

PAST WINNERS OF THE EARL HILL MEMORIAL: 88’ Bobby Davison, 89’ Bob Adams Jr., 90’ Bob Adams Jr., 91’ Butch McGill, 92’ Mike Hawkins, 93’ Bob Adams Jr., 94’ Butch McGill, 95’ Bob Adams Jr., 96’ Tim Hitt, 97’ DJ Cline, 98’ Butch McGill, 99’ Gary Dalton, 00’ Butch McGill, 01’ Bobby Hill, 02’ Rain, 03’ Bobby Hill, 04’ Mike Benedum, 05’ Robbie Scott, 06’ Mike Benedum, 07’ Mike Benedum, 08’ Tim Dohm, 09’ Zack Dohm, 10’ Jared Hawkins, 11’ Jared Miley, 12’ Jared Miley, 13’ Paul Wilmoth Jr., 14’ Jonathan Davenport, 15’ Tim Dohm (ran in 16’), 16’ Mason Zeigler, 17’ Derek Doll, 18???????

Also on the card will be a full show of 2 Brothers Motorsports AMRA Modifieds, Appalachian Mineral Title Company FASTRAK Late Models, Sigler Fabrication EDGE Hotmods presented by Poske Performance Parts, Jenkins Auto Parts Modlites, Sport Compacts, and Gear 2 Graphic MWRA Mini Wedges. Gates will open at 4pm with MWRA Mini Wedges scheduled for 5:45 and hotlaps/qualifying getting underway at 6:30. General admission is $18, with children 10 and under free, with pit admission priced at $35.

Tyler County Speedway is located 3 ½ miles south of Middlebourne, WV on State Route 18 at the Tyler County Fairgrounds approximately an hour from Wheeling, Clarksburg & Parkersburg. Featuring a spacious scenic campground along the Middle Island Creek with hookups, picnic shelters, playgrounds, shower and bathroom facilities among the many facility amenities to enhance the racing experience at West Virginia’s premier venue for motorsports.

For complete Tyler County Speedway event information, news stories, ticket info and schedule information for the season, visit www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com or call the track at 304-771-5661 or 304-771-6874 or on Raceday at 304-758-2660.