24th Annual Topless 50 & 7th Annual Let It Ride 55 Share Top Bill at Bullring Saturday

24th Annual Topless 50 & 7th Annual Let It Ride 55 Share Top Bill at Bullring Saturday

The Hometown Racing Association and the Tyler County Speedway are excited to welcome race fans and race teams to America Baddest Bullring for a doubleheader of regional crown jewel events. The 24th running of the Topless 50 paying $3,000 to win for Super Late Models along with the open wheel modifieds 7th running of the prestigious ‘Let It Ride’ 55 paying $3,055 to win. Two marquee events sharing the same card along with all other divisions taking the roof of as well will set up one epic ‘Topless’ Night at the Bullring.

The always popular and fan favorite ‘Topless 50’ has a storied history in its 24th year. The second oldest topless late model event in the country behind the Topless 100 at Batesville, Arkansas. The ‘Topless 50’ at Tyler County Speedway is a unique event in which all roofs and window supports are removed from the racecar to provide the fans with a “birds eye” view of the drivers as they work their way around the quarter mile speedway. The ‘Topless 50’ has provided some of the best side by side racing action and last lap finishes that make this event a must see year after year.

The extended 50 lap shows at the ‘Bullring’ always seem to bring out the best teams and provide the best racing action for the fans. A who’s who among late model racing stars have garnered past Topless 50’s including: 1995 Steve Steele, 1996 Butch McGill, 1997 Kenny Johnson, 1998 Chuck Harper, 1999 Butch McGill, 2000 Doug Horton, 2001 Paul Wilmoth, 2002 Paul Wilmoth, 2003 Chuck Harper, 2004 Mike Benedum, 2005 Robbie Scott, 2006 Sonny Conley, 2007 Mark Banal, 2008 Paul Wilmoth, 2009 Steve Shaver, 2010 Paul Wilmoth, 2011 Jared Hawkins, 2012 Jacob Hawkins, 2013 Jacob Hawkins, 2014 Sonny Conley, 2015 Jared Hawkins, 2016 Tim Dohm, 2017 Rain, 2018 ???????

After Mother Nature was declared winner of the 2017 version of the ‘Let It Ride 55’ after three rain outs, speedway officials are hopeful the 2018 winner will not be a repeat victor. The best open wheel mod racers will converge on the high banks of the ‘Bullring’ in ‘Topless’ fashion as well looking for the one of a kind slot machine trophy that annually goes to the winner. A who’s who of modified aces are expected as past winners of the coveted ‘Let It Ride 55’ include Tyler Nicely, Rick Aukland, Nick Hoffman, Tanner Wilson and Jesse Wisecarver.

Truly an epic night at the ‘Bullring’ featuring two regional fan favorite shows, plus all other divisions racing ‘Topless’ for the first time, don’t miss it! Gates will open at 4pm with MWRA Mini Wedges scheduled for 5:45 and hotlaps/qualifying getting underway at 6:30. General admission is $20, with children 10 and under free, with pit admission priced at $35.

Tyler County Speedway is located 3 ½ miles south of Middlebourne, WV on State Route 18 at the Tyler County Fairgrounds approximately an hour from Wheeling, Clarksburg & Parkersburg. Featuring a spacious scenic campground along the Middle Island Creek with hookups, picnic shelters, playgrounds, shower and bathroom facilities among the many facility amenities to enhance the racing experience at West Virginia’s premier venue for motorsports.

For complete Tyler County Speedway event information, news stories, ticket info and schedule information for the season, visit www.tylercountyspeedwayonline.com or call the track at 304-771-5661 or 304-771-6874 or on Raceday at 304-758-2660.