Sonny Conley & Derek Rogers Snare First Wins of Season at Tyler County Speedway

sonny conley

A fun action packed night at the Tyler County Speedway would see a couple first time winners visit victory lane, some wild finishes, late race heroics and fans in attendance were treated to an on-track meet and greet autograph night with their favorite racers.

New Martinsville, WV driver Sonny Conley aboard the familiar 1×1 Rocket Chassis would pick up his first victory in three years in the J&R Excavating Late Model division presented by Midcap Land and Timber.  But, it didn’t come easy as Conley set a torrid pace on the soft hammer down racing surface from the race start but would see his big lead evaporate on the last circuit.  As the leader exited turn 2 something broke underneath leaving a slowing Conley in the cross hairs of second place running Mike Benedum.  Conley was able to limp across the finish line with a closing Benedum and Steve Weigle in tow to narrowly escape with the popular win for the veteran racer.  Rounding out the top five were Benedum, Weigle, Corey Conley and Scott Irvin.

Popular racer Derek Rogers of Spelter, WV driving the #23 machine would pick up his first victory of the season at the Tyler County Speedway in the Peoples Bank FASTRAK main event.  A rough and tumble event would see Rogers hold off a hard charging Chris Carpenter from the tail to grab the popular win.  Rounding out the top five were Rogers, Carpenter, Brian Baumberger, Mike Griffin and Tracy Sampson.  A $1,500 to win FASTRAK NE Touring event will be on the slate next Saturday Night, June 15th for the Peoples Bank FASTRAK division.

Mike “Bird” Wilson would grab his second Two Brothers Motorsports feature event of the season.  Wilson would start his night with the misfortune of seeing his blue #20 hard in to the wall in heat race action, leaving his status for starting the feature in serious jeopardy.  But after lengthy repairs the talented Sistersville, WV racer would charge from the tail of the feature event running high low and the middle of the race track and making a late race pass of early leader Mark Dickson to seize his second win of the season in impressive fashion.  Rounding out the top five were Dickson, Travis Dickson, Justin Hart and Kenny Harris.

A full field of Hotmods would see Mike Conkle pick up another win after a wild and wooly main event.  An intense battle up front among Conkle, David Kile, Chad Smith, Tom Sigler, Travis Thomas, and Bill Sigmon among others had drivers running all over the tacky racing surface looking for the win.  A late race skirmish resulting in a 7 car pileup under the flag stand would see 2nd running Kile’s great run come to an end.  But when the dust settled it was wiley veteran Mike Conkle picking up the win followed by a charging Chad Smith from the tail, Lou Ennis, Chris Thomas and Bill Sigmon rounding out the top five.

Beallsville, Ohio’s Josh Baldwin would lay claim to his second Chris Metz State Farm Insurance Modlite main event over Mitch Ward, Jeff Fornash, Tracy Fritter and Ryan Baker.

In the MWRA Mini Wedges it was Jacob Ice claiming yet another win.  The “Little Ice Man” has been on a mission by dominating the MWRA class thus far in 2013.  Rounding out the top five were Alec Frazier, Georgie Tennant, Levi Nolan and Buckwheat Wright.

A busy week ahead for the Bullring as a double header of racing action is on the docket.  The first leg of the Weekley Electric Icon Memorial Tour will roll thru the Tyler County Speedway this Thursday Night, June 13th.  The four night Icon Memorial Tour will kick off with the 25th Annual Earl Hill Memorial with $4,000 on the line for the J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land and Timber.  Also on the Thursday Thunder card will be the always entertaining and stout Renegades of Dirt Modified Tour that will see the east coasts best open wheel warriors hit the high banks of the bullring.  Also joining the stellar Thursday Night card will be the Hotmods and Chris Metz State Farm Modlite divisions.  Gates open at 4, with hot laps/qualifications at 7, general admission is $20, children 10 and under are free and pit admission is $35 for the running of the Icon Memorial Tour featuring the Earl Hill Memorial and Renegade of Dirt Modified Tour.

Join us back at the bullring on Saturday night, June 15th for the $1,500 to win FASTRAK Late Model Northeast Tour plus the annual running of the Tammy Clegg Tribute race for the Hotmod division, also racing the Modlites and Mini Wedges.  Gates open at 4, Hotlaps/Qualifications begin at 7.  General admission is $10 and children 10 and under are free and pit admission is $26.

Located in the scenic WV hills, the Tyler County Speedway is located just 4 miles south of Middlebourne on State Route 18 at the fairgrounds and featuring the FANtastic 5 weekly program that consist of Super Late Models, FASTRAK Late Models, EDGE Modifieds, joined by the EDGE HotMods, ModLites, and as always the MWRA Mini-wedges will open the show at the Bullring. As the best weekly card in the Ohio Valley region provides more bang for the race fans hard earned buck featuring double the Late Model excitement and a triple dose of modified action at fan friendly pricing.

Look for much more information regarding the 39thseason of continuous operation at the new Tyler County Speedway and the 2013 plans of the Hometown Racing Association by following us online at or phone 304-771-6874 or 304-771-5051 or on raceday at 304-758-2660, email any questions to or follow us via social media on Facebook and Twitter.
–End of Release-


Saturday Night, June 8th Results

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land & Timber:  Sonny Conley, Mike Benedum, Steve Weigle, Corey Conley, Scott Irvin, Aaron Phyllis, Butch McGill, DNS Derek Doll

Two Brothers Motorsports Modified Feature: Bird Wilson, Mark Dickson, Travis Dickson, Justin Hart, Kenny Harris, Ron Deitch, Mark Deitch, Chris Basich, Kevin Miller

Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Model Feature: Derek Rogers, Chris Carpenter, Brian Baumberger, Mike Griffin, Tracy Sampson, Kris Southern, Dusty Swecker, Richard Frazier, Todd Chicklo, Joe Bowie, Melvin Ferguson, Joel Prosser, Travis Brown, Brandon McGrady, Chad Green, Danny Thomas, Kyle Thomas, Norm Weaver, Greg Hicks

Hotmod Feature: Mike Conkle, Chad Smith, Lou Ennis, Chris Thomas, Bill Sigmon, Codi Eaton, Jay Smarr, CJ Dotson, Brandon Weigle, Cody Brightwell, Brad Dickson, Jim Dudley, Allen Moore, Stevi Magyar, Jennifer Chicklo, Tiffany Jackson, David Kile, Tom Sigler, Travis Thomas, Kenny Isner, Curtis Watson, Levi Flesher

Chris Metz State Farm Insurance ModLite Feature: Josh Baldwin, Mitch Ward, Jeff Fornash, Tracy Fritter, Ryan Baker, Troy Collins, Zak Kimbrew, Ron Parrish, Daniel Eddy, Ryan Saffell, Steve Weekley, Matt Ward, Randy Kerns, Trey Watson

Mini Wedge Feature:  Jacob Ice, Alec Frazier, Georgie Tennant, Levi Nolan, Buckwheat Wright, Roo Roo Dotson, Kylie Cross, Caleb Nolan, Josh Gump, Mackenzie Perine, Madison Hamilton, Garrett Jones, #73, Elizabeth Conley, Kaitlyn Frazier, Brady Reed, Tripp Perine


No Comments

Leave a Reply