Derek Doll Grabs 39th Annual Season Opener at the Bullring

derek doll

(Middlebourne, WV)  A cool and crisp evening awaited the Tyler County Speedways faithful for the 39th Annual Season Opener.  A pit full of racers and a nice crowd of brave souls weathered the frigidly cool temps as the green flag would officially wave on the 2013 season.

An awesome opening ceremony would set the tone for a highly competitive evening of action as the Tyler County Speedway paid a special tribute to Veterans and last seasons track champions before local singer Nancy Kester would perform a beautiful rendition of the Star Spangled Banner.

A quick moving program would see the first checkered flag of the season waive at 9:20 for the J&R Excavating Super Late Model division presented by Midcap Land and Timber.  Young Derek Doll of nearby Greenwood, WV piloting the infamous Doll Bros. machine pull off a clean sweep as he would click off the fast time of the evening, garner a hard fought heat race win and go on to pick up his first win of the young season.  Rounding out the top five were Paul Wilmoth, Sonny Conley, Butch McGill and Daniel Hill.

In the Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Model division it was the reigning 2012 EDGE champion, Kyle Thomas of Pennsboro, WV picking up where he left off garnering the workmanlike victory after marching from his 7th place start.  Following Thomas across the strip were Joel Prosser, early race leader Bill Shaffer, Mike Griffin and Brian Baumberger.

Perennial ‘bullring’ modified ace Mike “Bird” Wilson would notch victory #1 of the season at the Tyler County Speedway aboard the familiar unsponsored #20.  Wilson would have to work diligently to outmuscle early race leader Tommy Powell as the duo would race several laps side beside before Wilson was able to pull away and snare the win.  Rounding out the top 5 were Powell, Gerald Deitch, Kurt Burge and Devin Verardi.

In the race of the night, a strong field of 21 EDGE Hotmods squared off with Cheshire, Ohio’s Mike Conkle out dragging race long leader Kenny “Radar” Isner coming out of turn 4 on the last lap to pick up the early hard fought victory.  A wild mid race battle would ensue as Isner, Conkle, Travis Thomas and Chad Smith would race high and low swapping lanes and passes as they fought thru lapped traffic in classic ‘bullring’ fashion.  When the dust cleared however it was Conkle picking up the elusive first win of the 2013 campaign.

A strong contingent of Chris Metz State Farm Insurance ModLites took the green with Beallsville, OH’s 34n of Josh Baldwin crossing the stripe first.  Eighth starting Tommy Keplinger would finish second, followed by Mitch Ward, 2012 track champion Brandon Fluharty and Jeff Fornash.

Kicking off the program was Zack Carr piloting the #7 picking up the MWRA feature followed by Georgie Tennant, Jacob Ice, Kaitlyn Frazier and Kylee Cross.

Be sure to join us next Saturday Night at the Bullring for Family Feast Night….so bring the kids as they will receive a voucher for a hotdog, chips and drink.  Plus it’s “Gold Rush” night for the youngsters at intermission.  General admission is priced at $12, Pits $26 and children 10 and under are free.  Gates open at 3, action gets underway at 6!  For more information visit us online at .

Complete Results:

J&R Excavating Super Late Models presented by Midcap Land & Timber:  Derek Doll, Paul Wilmoth, Sonny Conley, Butch McGill, Daniel Hill, Steve Weigle, Donnie Dotson, Billy Brown, Cody Hardesty, Shawn Jett, Joe Krcelich, Robbie Scott, Scott Irvin

Peoples Bank FASTRAK Late Models:  Kyle Thomas, Joel Prosser, Bill Shaffer, Mike Griffin, Brian Baumberger, Melvin Ferguson, Tracy Sampson, Nico Debecco, Travis Brown, Kris Southern, Danny Thomas, Greg Hicks, Joey Jenkins, Chad Green, Derrick Shaw

Two Brothers Motorsports EDGE Modifieds:  Mike Wilson, Tommy Powell, Gerald Deitch, Kurt Burge, Devin Verardi, Mark Deitch, Tom Sigler, Cody Henthorn, Eric Wykert, Steven Dotson

EDGE Hotmods:  Mike Conkle, Kenny Isner, Chad Smith, Travis Thomas, Levi Flesher, Codi Eaton, Brad Dickson, Curtis Watson, Jim Dudley, Bobby Kimball, Stevi Magyar, Jennifer Chicklo, Brandon Weigle, Tiffany Jackson, Lindsay Smarr, Josh Sigler, Bill Sigmon, CJ Dotson, Allen Moore, Chris Thomas

Chris Metz State Farm Insurance ModLites: Josh Baldwin, Tom Keplinger, Mitch Ward, Brandon Fluharty, Jeff Fornash, Braden Dillinger, Jim Ruckman, Randy Kerns, Troy Collins, Daniel Eddy, Ryan Saffell, Steve Weekley, Matt Ward, Ryan Baker, Mike Flockerzi, Zack Kimbrew, George Englert

Mini Wedge Feature:  7 Zack Carr, 88 Georgie Tennant, 27 Jacob Ice, 0 Katlylin Frazier, 33 Kylee Cross, H13 Hayden Jacobs, 22f Alec Frazier, J7 Josh Gump, 4x Philip Bubeck, 15 Brady Reed, 8m Mackenzie Perine, 12 Jon Nichols, 10 Harley Rush, 13 Madison Hamilton, 4 Roo-Roo Dotson, 23 Garrett Jones, 51k Kolbe Kimberly



No Comments

Leave a Reply